Academic Governance

Membership of Academic Senate


  • Vice-Chancellor: Prof Peter Rathjen
  • Provost: Prof Mike Calford
  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Global): Prof Monique Skidmore
  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research): Prof Brigid Heywood
  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Students & Education): Prof David Sadler
  • Principal, University College: Prof Janelle Allison
  • Principal, Australian Maritime College: Prof Neil Bose
  • Director, Menzies Institute for Medical Research: Prof Alison Venn
  • Executive Director, Institute for Marine & Antarctic Studies (IMAS): Prof Richard Coleman
  • Pro Vice-Chancellor (Researcher Development): Prof Clive Baldock
  • Pro Vice-Chancellor (Aboriginal Research & Leadership): Prof Maggie Walter
  • Interim Pro Vice-Chancellor (College of Arts, Law and Education): Prof Noel Frankham
  • President, TUU: Mr Clark Cooley
  • Postgraduate President, TUU: Mr Joey Crawford
  • Campus President (North), TUU: Mr Dan Probert
  • International Students Officer, TUU: Mr Afiq Arshad


  • Health: Prof Denise Fassett
  • Science, Engineering & Technology: Prof Brian Yates
  • Tasmanian School of Business & Economics: Prof Chris Earley

Heads of School/Deans of Faculty

  • Architecture & Design: Prof Kirsten Orr
  • Biological Sciences: Prof Anthony Koutoulis
  • Education: Prof Karen Swabey
  • Engineering & ICT: Prof Andrew Chan
  • Health Sciences: Prof Nuala Byrne
  • Humanities: Prof Tony Simoes da Silva
  • Land & Food: Prof Holger Meinke
  • Law: Prof Margaret Otlowski
  • Medicine: Prof Ben Canny
  • Physical Sciences: Prof John Dickey
  • Social Sciences: Prof Catherine Palmer
  • Tasmanian College of the Arts: Prof Kit Wise
  • Tasmanian School of Business & Economics: Dr Stuart Crispin (Interim)

Directors of National Centres

  • National Centre for Maritime Engineering & Hydrodynamics (NCMEH): Assoc Prof Michael Woodward
  • National Centre for Ports & Shipping (NCPS): Prof Athanasios Karlis

Chairs of College Faculty Boards

  • Arts, Law and Education: Prof James Chin
  • Business & Economics: Prof John Tisdell
  • Health: Prof Justin Walls
  • Science, Engineering & Technology: Assoc Prof Caroline Mohammed

Elected Members

  • Chair: Prof Dianne Nicol  Term:  31.12.2018
  • Deputy Chair: Prof Dominic Geraghty  Term:  31.12.2019
  • Research Fellow: Prof Keith Jacobs  Term:  31.12.2017

Members of Academic Staff:

  • Dr Debra Carnes    Term:  31.12.2018
  • Dr Andrea Carr    Term:  31.12.2017
  • Dr Jamie Chapman    Term:  31.12.2017
  • Dr Peta Cook    Term:  31.12.2018
  • Assoc Prof Mark Dibben    31.12.2017
  • Dr Renee Dwyer    Term:  31.12.2018
  • Assoc Prof Lisa Foa    Term:  31.12.2017
  • Dr John Kenny    Term:  31.12.2018
  • Dr Trevor Lewis     Term:  31.12.2018
  • Prof Greg Rickard    Term:  31.12.2018
  • Prof Elaine Stratford    Term:  31.12.2017
  • Assoc Prof Ashley Townsend    Term:  31.12.2017


  • Prof David Adams, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Community Partnerships & Regional Development)
  • Assoc Prof Natalie Brown, Director (Academic Quality)
  • Mr David Clerk, Chief Operating Officer
  • Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research Collaborations & Infrastructure (Executive Director, IMAS)
  • Prof Margaret Noble, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Schools Engagement)
  • Pro Vice-Chancellor (Global Engagement)
  • Mrs Karmen Pemberton, University Librarian
  • Mrs Stephanie Taylor, Chair, Student Experience Committee and Executive Director (Student Experience)


  • Ms Sonia Nelson