Academic Governance

What is the Academic Senate?

The University of Tasmania Act has established an Academic Senate, with responsibility for advising the Council on all academic matters relating to the University. Membership of the Academic Senate comprises the Vice-Chancellor, Provost, Deputy Vice-Chancellors, Australian Maritime College Principal and Pro Vice-Chancellor, Chief Operating Officer, Executive Director (Strategic Projects), Deans, Associate Deans (Teaching & Learning), Heads of School, Directors of National Centres, Heads of some Institutes, Presidents of Tasmania University Union, the University Librarian, the Director Student and Academic Services, and elected Professors and academic staff members. The Academic Senate elects its own Chair and Deputy Chair from among the Professorial members of the Academic Senate.

The Academic Senate's statutory authority in academic matters within the University has been elaborated in University Ordinances and in the Academic Senate's policies. These give the Academic Senate primary responsibility for determining standards, exercising quality control and providing quality assurance across all the University's academic activities.