Australian Centre for Research on Separation Science

National Recognition for Two ACROSS Members

Congratulations to both Daniel Gstoettenmayr and Michael Breadmore.

Daniel Gstoettenmayr, a postgraduate studying at ACROSS, won the People's Choice Award at a 3 Minute Thesis Competition, held at the Graduate Research Conference.

The aim of the 3 Minute Thesis Competition is to explain ones thesis to a non-specialist audience, using a single slide and adhering to the strict time limit. Judging is based on communication style, comprehension and engagement. In a competition filled with many exemplary presentations, Daniel received the People's Choice Award, which won him a $500 research travel grant.

More recently, A/Prof Michael Breadmore, an ARC QEII Fellow at ACROSS, was the first runner up for the Scopus Young Researcher of the Year Award in the physical sciences field.

The Scopus Young Researcher of the Year Award, supported by Elsevier, aims to acknowledge outstanding young scientists and researchers in Australasia who have made significant contributions to their field. The applicants are evaluated in three areas; research impact, external impact, and esteem contribution. Congratulations to Michael, who was one of the 15 recipients acknowledged at the award ceremony in Adelaide.

Congratulations again to both Daniel and Michael on their impressive achievements.

Written by Jason Hofman

Published on: 25 Sep 2013