Australian Innovation Research Centre

AIRC Governance

A high-level Advisory Council provides strategic input into the running of the AIRC, and includes representatives of the best of Australia's scientists, innovators, business managers and policy makers.

A Management Committee comprising representatives from various stakeholders provides strategic guidance, focusing on growth and development, and ensures appropriate governance.

Adrienne-ClarkeProfessor Adrienne E Clarke

Professor Clarke is Laureate Professor in the School of Botany at the University of Melbourne. She served as President of the International Society for Plant Molecular Biology (1997-1998). She is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, Foreign Associate of the National Academy of Sciences (USA) and Foreign Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a Fellow of Janet Clarke Hall in Melbourne. Professor Clarke was appointed as an inaugural Fellow (2007) of the American Society of Plant Biologists. She served as Chairman of the CSIRO Board (1991-1996), Lieutenant Governor of Victoria (1997-2000), Ambassador for Biotechnology for Victoria (2001-2004) and has served on many government committees.

Professor Clarke is a Director of Hexima Limited, a company that focuses on agricultural biotechnology. She has also served as a Director on a number of public companies including Alcoa of Australia Limited (1993-96), Woolworths Limited (1994-2007), WMC Limited (1996-2005) and Fisher & Paykel Healthcare Limited (2002-2008). She also serves on various scientific advisory boards including the Australian Research Centre for Urban Ecology (ARCUE) (2004 - ).

Clem-DohertyMr Clem Doherty

Mr Clem Doherty is an investor in start-up technology based businesses. He is Chairman of Like Minded Individuals and GeoHunter, and a Director of Australian Swimming. He is an Advisory Board member of Network Insight and the ABS. Prior appointments include Board roles at Buildsite LLC, Australian Business Foundation, Australian Coalition of Service Industries (ACSI), and Australian Bush Heritage. Prior Advisory Board roles included NOIE (Deputy Chairman), Australian Information Economy Advisory Council, XT3 and Roar Film (Roar Educate [Chairman]). Mr Doherty was a member of the Australian Government's Higher Education Review Committee and a member of the Knowledge Nation Taskforce. He retired as a Director of McKinsey & Company, where he led the Asia-Pacific Telecommunications, Electronics, Media and Multimedia Sector, was co-leader of the Global Telecommunications Sector, and a member of the Asia Pacific Board. Mr Doherty holds a BSc.BE (UNSW), and an MBA from Stanford University.

Hugh-MorganMr Hugh Morgan

Hugh Morgan is Principal of First Charnock Pty Ltd. He is the Chairman of the Order of Australia Association Foundation Limited; Trustee Emeritus of The Asia Society New York; Patron of Creativity Australia; Patron of The Song Room; Chairman of the JNF Environmental Scholarship Fund and President of the National Gallery of Victoria Foundation. He was a Director of the Board of the Reserve Bank of Australia for 14 years. From 2003-2005 he was President of the Business Council of Australia. He is a past Executive Committee Member of the World Business Council for Sustainable Development and a Past Co-Chair of the Commonwealth Business Council and continuing Director Emeritus. He is a graduate in Law and Commerce from the University of Melbourne and was Managing Director of WMC Limited from 1986 to 2003. He was a Director of Alcoa of Australia from 1977 to 1998 and a Director of Alcoa Inc from 1998 to 2001.

Carol-SchwartzMs Carol Schwartz

Ms Carol Schwartz is Chairman of Industry Superannuation Property Trust (ISPT); Chairman of Our Community; President of Melbourne International Arts Festival; Director of Highpoint Property Group, responsible for Highpoint Shopping Centre (one of Australia's largest regional shopping centres) as well as a director on a number of other leading boards. Ms Schwartz was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia in the Australia Day Honours list in 2006 for her achievements in business and commerce and her contribution to community and the arts; she also received the Centenary Medal in 2001 in recognition of her outstanding service as a leading business executive and board participant.


Steven-SkalaMr Steven Skala

Steven Skala is Vice Chairman, Australia and New Zealand of Deutsche Bank AG. He is also Chairman of Film Australia Limited, Hexima Limited, and Live Events Wireless Pty Limited, and is a director of Max Re Capital Ltd, Wilson HTM Investment Group Limited, the Centre for Independent Studies, and the Australian Ballet. Mr Skala serves as the Vice President of the Walter & Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, as a Trustee of the Sir Zelman Cowan Cancer Foundation, and as a Member of the International Council of the Museum of Modern Art, New York (MoMA). He is also a Member of the Grievance Tribunal of Cricket Australia. He is the immediate past Chairman of the Australian Centre for Contemporary Art, and was director of the Channel 10 Group of Companies and the King Island Company Limited. Between 1985 and 2004, he was a solicitor and head of the corporate and commercial practice of Arnold Bloch Liebler, where he was a senior partner and principal adviser too many major Australian companies.

Jonathan-WestProfessor Jonathan West

Founding Director, AIRC

Anthony-ArundelProfessor Anthony Arundel

Professor of Innovation, AIRC

Carol-HardingMs Carol Harding

Deputy Director, AIRC

Greg-Johannes-4Mr Greg Johannes

Deputy Secretary, Department of Premier and Cabinet

Gary-ODonovanProfessor Gary O'Donovan

Dean, Tasmanian School of Business and Economics