Australian Music Examinations Board Tasmania


In 1887 the University of Adelaide and Melbourne established the Australian Music Examinations Board (AMEB). Tasmania was the third State to become a party to the AMEB with the University of Tasmania joining in 1911. In 1918 the AMEB became a national organisation.

Today it is a federated body with its Federal Office based in Melbourne. Signatories to its constitution comprise the Universities of Melbourne, Adelaide, Western Australia, the Minister for Education, New South Wales, the Minister for Education, Training and Employment, Queensland, and the Minister for Education and Training, Tasmania, through the University of Tasmania. These and other education institutions use AMEB qualifications as a benchmark for selection of students into their courses.

In Tasmania, the AMEB is administered by the Conservatorium of Music (University of Tasmania) on behalf of the Minister for Education and Training.

Members of the AMEB State Committee appointed by the Minister for Education and Training are as follows:

  • Associate Professor Andrew Legg, PhD(Tas), FGMWA (Michigan), B.Mus(Tas), TTC, Director, Conservatorium of Music, Deputy Head, Tasmanian College of the Arts, University of Tasmania, Chairperson
  • Frank Bansel, MEd(Studs)(Tas), BEd(TCAE), DipT(Tas), TTC
  • Emma Burgess, PhD(Tas), MEdM(Melb), BEd(MU), DipT(MU), AMusA
  • Mitch De Jonge, BMus(Perf)(Hons)(Adel)
  • Jane Edwards, BMus(Tas)
  • Nicholas Haywood, PhD(Tas), BMus(Perf)(VCA)
  • Jody Heald, GradDipMus(Tas), BMus(Tas), TMusA, AMusA, LMusA, MIMT
  • Sherryn Arneil Hepher, ADipMus(Tas), BPerfArts(Tas), BEd(Tas)
  • Glen Hodges, PhD(Macq),MMus(North Texas), BMus(UNE)
  • Christopher Kimber
  • Jenny Lakeland, BEd(Music)(Tas), AssocDipMus(Tas), AMusA
  • Jennifer MacDonald, BMus(Tas), DipEd(Tas)
  • Rebecca Miller, BPerfArts(Tas), BEd(Tas)
  • Anne Morgan, BEd(Tas), DipChMus(NSW), DipRth(RMIT), LTCL
  • Margaret Reid, BA(MusEd)(Tas), TTC
  • Scott Weston, BMus, MusEd(Tas) 
  • Marita Crothers, BA (Tas), State Manager