Skip to content

Australasian Workshop on Health Informatics and Knowledge Management

The 10th Australasian Workshop on Health Informatics and Knowledge Management (HIKM 2017) will be held at Deakin University, Geelong, Victoria, Melbourne, 31 Jan - 3rd February 2017.

HIKM is an established forum for academic research in the area of computing in support of healthcare delivery and is held annually as part of Australasian Computer Science Week. The co-chairs for 2017 are Professor Trish Williams, Flinders University, Tony Sahama, Queensland University of Technology, and Kerryn Butler-Henderson, University of Tasmania.

Submission of papers presenting original unpublished work should address current research topics in health informatics and knowledge management, including:

Use and integration of computing in healthcare:

  • biomedical devices and systems
  • biotechnology and bioinformatics
  • clinical decision support
  • conceptual models and architectures for health information systems
  • consumer information systems
  • design and implementation for new models of care
  • electronic health records and personal health records
  • evaluation of clinical applications and systems
  • health informatics education
  • mobile platforms and BYOD in healthcare
  • online and web interventions in healthcare

Data science and analysis for healthcare:

  • knowledge discovery, data mining and visualization
  • health information management
  • health workflow management
  • interoperability protocols, terminologies, and ontologies
  • standards for healthcare computing and health data
  • use and quality of health data collections and registries, data linkage and integration
  • modelling spatial / temporal / biological data
  • privacy / security issues
  • public and population large and big dataset predictive analysis and surveillance
  • telemedicine and remote healthcare services

Accepted papers will be included in the Proceedings of ACSW 2017, to be published by ACM. Papers should be no more than 10 pages in length, and must conform to formatting instructions for all ACSW submissions.

Submission of a paper will be regarded as an undertaking that it will not simultaneously under consideration elsewhere, and that should the paper be accepted, at least one author will attend the conference to present the work.

Published papers from previous HIKM workshops appeared in the ACS CRPIT series

HIKM 2017 Timeline and Flyer:

Please see the Important Dates for all ACSW conferences.

HIKM 2017 Programme Committee:


Professor Trish Williams, Flinders University

Dr Tony Sahama, Queensland University of Technology

Dr Kerryn Butler-Henderson, University of Tasmania

Scientific Review Committee:

Inga Hunter, Massey University

Mary Lam, University of Sydney

Dave Parry, Auckland University of Technology

Jeffrey Soar, University of Southern Queensland

Jan Stanek, University of South Australia

Anthony Maeder, Flinders University

Kathleen Gray, The University of Melbourne

Alan Taylor, Flinders University & eDevelopment Solutions

Ping Yu, University of Wollongong,

Jim Basilakis, Western Sydney University,

Jim Warren, University of Auckland

Krishnun Sansurooah, Edith Cowan University