Skip to content

CPA Australia Recognises Outstanding Contribution to the Accounting Profession

Published 10 May 2016

At a ceremony held recently in Hobart, Professor Gary O'Donovan, the current Pro Vice-Chancellor – Global Engagement and former Dean of the Tasmanian School of Business and Economics, received a CPA Australia Board of Directors Award for Outstanding Service.CPA Australia general manager Tasmania Gina Gunn said the award is most prestigious and recognises outstanding service and contribution over and above what might reasonably be expected through a voluntary contribution."CPA Australia recognises the invaluable contribution the academic community makes to the Accounting profession in Australia and internationally, particularly our CPA members within the academic community."Professor O'Donovan, FCPA is an outstanding CPA Australia member, past Divisional Councillor, Deputy Council President and President, having extensive involvement in and leadership of, a range of CPA Australia activities over his 36 years of membership of the organisation."His association with CPA Australia has, and continues to undoubtedly advance the recognition and reputation of CPA Australia and the broader Accounting profession."CPA Australia is one of the world's largest accounting bodies with a global membership of more than 150,000 members working in 120 countries around the world, with more than 25,000 members working in senior leadership positions.In his previous roles at the University, as Dean of the Tasmanian School of Business and Economics and Head of the School of Accounting and Corporate Governance, Professor O'Donovan has been pivotal in ensuring that the links between the University and the professional accounting bodies has been productive and of lasting benefit to the University, the accounting profession and in particular students studying accounting.At the presentation ceremony two other accounting academics, Dr Sonia Shimeld and Dr Paul Shantapriyan were also awarded 20 and 10 year member recognition certificates.   Pictured above are Dr Sonia Shimeld, Professor Gary O'Donovan and Dr Paul Shantapriyan.