Courses & Units

Master of Clinical Midwifery H7C

Distance Launceston


The Master of Clinical Midwifery is a three-year (i.e. six semester) part-time course offered statewide and interstate of which the first two years comprise the Graduate Diploma of Midwifery. Applicants entering at the third level of the program i.e. directly into the two Master's level units must have completed a Graduate Diploma or equivalent.


Course Name Master of Clinical Midwifery
Course Abbreviation MCMid
Course Duration 3 Years
Maximum time to complete (Part-time) 7 Years
Responsible Faculty Faculty of Health



Location Study periods
Distance Launceston Semester 1


The School of Health Sciences aims to create an educational environment which values critical reflective thinking, life-long learning and professional development. The course focuses on a high level of conceptualisation within midwifery, preparing graduates who can contribute to knowledge and practice development.

Candidates will have the opportunity to:

  • enhance specialist midwifery knowledge and skills;
  • develop leadership skills in midwifery;
  • develop advanced skills in clinical supervision, teaching and mentorship; and
  • increase their understanding of the complex issues in midwifery practice.

This course aims to provide students with the knowledge, career skills and personal attributes for employment in midwifery at an advanced level.

Career Outcomes

Graduates of the Master of Clinical Midwifery will be equipped with the knowledge and skills to enable them to function at an advanced level within practice. The course recognises the ability of expert practitioners and provides them with an appropriate professional qualification.


An applicant must: [i] be a registered midwife in Australia, or [ii] if an overseas applicant, have had his/her qualifications assessed by the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia and be eligible for registration in Australia, and normally have had at least two years of full-time experience in relevant practice within the last two years (or equivalent); [iii] hold a relevant undergraduate degree with a grade point average of at least a credit (or equivalent); or [iv] have qualifications or experience deemed to be the equivalent of one of the above.

If you've previously undertaken study overseas, please review our list of equivalent qualifications.

Please note: international students should refer to the General Admission Requirements page for information regarding entry requirements.

Credit Transfer and Articulation

The Master of Clinical Midwifery articulates with the Graduate Diploma of Midwifery.

The Master of Clinical Midwifery course comprises six 25% units or equivalent. The first two years of the course consist of the Graduate Diploma of Midwifery. For details see course code H6G.

Course Structure


Annual Course Cost

Fees for domestic students are based on individual unit selections. Please refer to the fees section of each unit description to work out an indicative annual cost.

International students should refer to the International Students course fees page to get an indicative course cost.


For information on general scholarships available at the University of Tasmania, please visit the scholarships website.

Course Rules

1In these specifications 'Faculty' means the Faculty of Health Science.


2A candidate for the award of Master of Clinical Midwifery must:
 (i)be eligible for registration as a midwife in Australia and hold a current practising certificate;
 (ii)normally have had at least two years' full-time experience in relevant midwifery practice (or equivalent);
 (iii)hold a graduate diploma in midwifery or an undergraduate degree in midwifery with a grade point average of at least a credit (or equivalent);
 have qualifications and experience deemed to be the equivalent of all of the above.
 Advanced standing and/or recognition of prior learning will be determined as part of the admission process.
3Candidates for the award shall complete the award requirements, as hereinafter prescribed, in not less than three years of part-time study and not more than seven  years, from the time of first enrolment.
4Candidates with previous postgraduate midwifery qualifications are eligible to apply for advanced standing.
5For candidates with other midwifery qualifications who are admitted with advanced standing, the maximum allowable completion time will be calculated on a pro rata basis. They will be notified on admission to the course of their maximum completion time.

Course structure

6To qualify for the award, candidates must pass the units prescribed in the Schedule.
7[i]Units may be counted towards the award only if they have been taken in accordance with prerequisites determined by the Faculty and as summarised in Schedule.
 [ii]A candidate normally may not enrol in any year in units totalling more than 50% weighting.
 [iii]Where two or more units of the same name or content are offered within the University, only one may be counted towards the award.
 [iv]In every case the candidate's choice of units and the order in which they are taken shall be subject to approval by the Faculty in accordance with the requirements of paragraph 6.
8Candidates entering clinical practice in a clinical agency shall observe the rules, regulations, policies, protocols, procedures and by-laws of that clinical agency.

Credit for previous studies

9[i]Passes in subjects or units in other courses (completed or otherwise) in this University or another approved tertiary institution (or other approved professional examining body) may be credited towards the degree, provided that the Faculty may specify what more a candidate so credited shall be required to do to qualify for the degree.
 [ii]Advanced standing and/or recognition of prior learning will be determined as part of the admission process.


10The Faculty may from time to time make amendments to the Schedule to these specifications.
11These specifications shall take effect on 1 January 2004 and shall apply to all candidates for the Master of Clinical Midwifery, including those enrolling for the first time in that year and those enrolled subsequently.
12The approved abbreviation for the degree of Master of Clinical Midwifery shall be MCMid.