Faculty of Education

Professional Experience

Welcome to Professional Experience in the Faculty of Education!

Professional Experience - Early Childhood
Professional Experience - Secon
Professional Experience - Secondary









Professional Experience is an integral part of preparing for a profession in education. It is a core requirement of our teaching degrees, a component that helps link theoretical studies to practice. Professional Experience aims to help prepare students for the multitude of roles in Primary and Secondary schools and Early Childhood environments and provides opportunities to develop professional communication skills and exposure to a variety of educational environments and workplaces to prepare for the profession.

SPMS

All students who enrol in a Bachelor of Education or a Master of Teaching must undertake Professional Experience. Students undertake professional experience in a variety of educational settings, full-time, for a number of weeks each year. The Bachelor of Education requires a minimum of 80 days for the degree while the Master of Teaching requires a minimum of 60 days.

Professional Experience Office

University of Tasmania, School of Education, Locked Bag 1307 LAUNCESTON 7250

Professional.Experience@educ.utas.edu.au


Dean Cooley

Dr Dean Cooley

Academic Director, Professional Experience

Email: Dean.Cooley@utas.edu.au
Tel: 03 6324 3096


Sarah Reaburn

Sarah Reaburn

Coordinator, Professional Experience

Email: Sarah.Reaburn@utas.edu.au
Tel: 03 6324 3154


Ann Brown

Ann Brown

Professional Experience Administrative Assistant

Email: Ann.Brown@utas.edu.au
Tel: 03 6324 3424


Trudy Griggs

Trudy Griggs

Professional Experience Placement Officer

Email: Trudy.Griggs@utas.edu.au
Tel: 03 6324 3280


Susan Lister

Susan Lister

Professional Experience Placement Officer

Email: Susan.Lister@utas.edu.au
Tel: 03 6324 3248


Professional Experience

Get the latest information regarding profession experience placements.



Graduate Certificate in Education

Early Childhood


Masters of Teaching

Primary & Secondary

      For updates, tips and the latest Professional Experience information please like our Facebook page.