Skip to content

University Equity Committees

University of Tasmania Equity Committee

The University Equity Committee was formed in March 2016 and will operate within the broader context of the University’s Inclusion, Diversity and Equity Principles.

Chaired by Professor Brigid Heywood, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), the Committee will provide a forum for the discussion of inclusion, equity and diversity issues, generating ideas and initiatives that build momentum and contribute to the communication and reinforcement of shared values to support a culture of inclusiveness within the University.  The Committee will also play a key role in the development of the University’s Inclusion, Diversity and Equity Strategy and progressive implementation of its objectives.  The Committee's Terms of Reference can be found here (PDF 317KB).

Please contact the Staff Experience Unit for further information on the on the University Equity Committee.

Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team (SAT)

Athena SWAN Charter provides an evaluation and accreditation framework to help improve gender equity policies and practices in academic institutions, with demonstrable results in the United Kingdom. The University of Tasmania is an inaugural member of the Science in Australia Gender Equity (SAGE) Pilot of Athena SWAN.

Faculty Based Equity Committees

There are also a number of Faculty-based equity committees; they are listed below along with contact details for further information.

Faculty of Health Science Gender Equity Committee
Chair Professor Lisa Foa
Secretary Jonathan Bugg

SET Faculty Gender Equity Committee
Chair Professor Brian Yates
Secretary Deborah Bordeau

Menzies Institute for Medical Research Gender Equity Committee
Chair Professor Tracey Dickson

Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies (IMAS) Gender Equity Committee
Chair Dr Angela McGuire