Engineering units

University of Tasmania
Electrical & Electronics Engineering Units - 1996

To turn back to Engineering units ACM8-

Engineering (Electrical and Electronic) at Hobart

AEA132 Basic Electrical Engineering

Consists of component (b) of ACM100 and introduces the student to electrical engineering circuit fundamentals. The unit also includes steady state DC circuits, periodic waveforms, AC steady state circuits, non-linear circuit components, electromagnet induction, basic electrical measurements, and electrical safety.

Special notes
teaching staff Mr RA Langman
campus & mode Hbt, int
unit weight [8.33% (BSc 3pts)]
teaching pattern sem 2 - 3x1-hour lectures, 1-hour tutorial a week (12 weeks) and 8x3-hour laboratory sessions
prerequisites TCE Mathematics Stage 2 and TCE Physics (or HSC equivalents) or satisfactory alternatives approved by the Academic Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Surveying
mutual exclusions ACM100, ACM110, ACM190
method of assessment marked tutorials (20%), final exam (40%), laboratory work (25%), semester test (15%)
required texts, etc
Rizzoni G, Principles and Applications of Electrical Engineering,  Irwin, 1993.

recommended reading

Staff of the Department of Electrical & Electronic Engineering
To return to Units Contents Page
To return to Handbooks Home Page

© University of Tasmania, 1996.
Details shown above were correct at the time of publication. While every effort is made to keep this information up to date, the University reserves the right to discontinue or vary courses at any time without notice.

To continue with Engineering units AEA2-