Faculty of Health

University Citations for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning

Several staff members were recently recognised for excellence with the presentation of the 2016 University Citations for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning.

Attended by Deputy Vice-Chancellor Students & Education Professor David Sadler, the ceremony saw the following citations awarded:

Individual Awards

Ms Clair Andersen – Tasmanian Institute of Learning and Teaching (Individual)

For developing resources to enhance and support student learning of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, histories and cultures.

Ms Isabelle Bartkowiak-Th̩ron РSchool of Social Sciences (Individual)

For state and national leadership in the professionalisation of policing, police education scholarship, and for innovation in teaching the policing of vulnerable people.

Ms Christine Handley, School of Health Science (Individual)

For sustained leadership in and command (25 years+) of the fields of mental health nursing education and practice that influences, inspires and motivates student learning.

Dr Corinne Mirkazemi – School of Medicine (Early Career)

For developing and sustaining strategies that improve the student experience, that encourage purposeful learning, and that role-model the gold-standard person-centred approach to healthcare.

Team Award

Dr Alexander Bissember and Associate Professor Jason Smith – School of Physical Sciences

For the incorporation of cutting-edge research developments into the undergraduate Chemistry curriculum to enhance student learning and improve student engagement.