Faculty of Health

Surgical career a reality for Launceston student

A promising, young student from Launceston will have the chance to pursue a career in medicine after being awarded a prestigious scholarship.

First-year University of Tasmania School of Medicine student Isaac Degetto was recently awarded the Medical Council of Tasmania Medical Student Scholarship.

The scholarship is valued at $8000 a year, for up to five years, and helps to assist a student who wishes to pursue a medical career.

“Words cannot express how much this means to both myself and my education,” Isaac said.

“Receiving this scholarship is a huge honour and I am very grateful to the Medical Board of Tasmania.”

Isaac grew up in Launceston, studying at St Patricks College. The scholarship has enabled him to relocate to Hobart to study medicine at the University’s Faculty of Health.

“Surgery is what I plan to specialise in after I finish, due to a strong passion I have in science, maths and anatomy,” Isaac said.

Isaac was joined by Medical Council of Tasmania board members, industry and past recipients for the ceremony.

University of Tasmania Head of School (Medicine) Professor Ben Canny congratulated Isaac on receiving the scholarship.

“Isaac has a very bright future ahead of him and this scholarship has been invaluable in helping to make his dreams of pursing a surgical career a reality,” Professor Canny said.

About the scholarship :

The Medical Council of Tasmania, upon its dissolution in 2010, invested with the University of Tasmania Foundation an endowment to provide the most significant scholarship for medicine students in the history of the University. Each year one new promising student is awarded the scholarship. This legacy will provide opportunity and inspiration to the next generation of Tasmanian medical professionals who may not have otherwise had the financial ability to embark upon the challenging five year degree.

Picture: Medical Council of Tasmania Medical Student Scholarship recipient Isaac Degetto with Dr Michael Hodgson.