Faculty of Law




Saturday 19th January 2013 (9am - 5pm)
Sunday 20th January 2013 (9am - 5pm)


University of Tasmania, Hobart
UTAS Faculty of Law, and the UTAS Staff Club


Please contact the Conference Co-ordinator Meg Good at: Meg.Good@utas.edu.au.

Queries should no longer be directed to the conference email account (Animal.LawConference@utas.edu.au)

Keynote Speaker

Professor Marsha Baum (University of New Mexico, USA)


  • Professor Rob White (UTAS)
  • Associate Professor Alex Bruce (ANU)
  • Professor Marsha Baum (University of New Mexico)
  • Professor Gary Meyers (UTAS)
  • Dr Malcolm Caulfield
  • Professor Clive Phillips (University of Queensland) 
  • Professor Nick James (Bond University)
  • Rochelle James (University of Sydney)
  • Shatha Hamade (Animals Australia) 
  • Robert Fisher
  • Greg Irons (Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary) 
  • Emma Haswell (Brightside Farm Sanctuary)
  • Mary Bennett (DPIPWE) 
  • Professor Di Nicol (UTAS)
  • Ruth Hatten (Voiceless) 
  • Dana Campbell (Voiceless)
  • Dr Melissa Perry QC 
  • Steven White (Griffith University)

Continuing Professional Development (CPD)

Tasmanian legal practitioners can accrue up to 5 CPD points in substantive law through attendance at the Conference.