Faculty of Law

Advocacy Training at UTAS: National Competition Success

Our Law School may be small, but it offers incredible and diverse opportunities in advocacy both within the curriculum and as extracurricular activities. Advocacy training is central to the core third year units of Public Law and Constitutional Law and the final year Faculty Moot, held in the Supreme Court of Tasmania. The benefits of these programs are shown by the achievements of UTAS teams on the national competition stage.

In 2015 ALSA Conference in Sydney saw a number of stellar performances from Team UTAS: Patrick Deayton in Witness Examination, Rochelle Hodge and Bethany Hawkeswood in Client Interview and Saras Varatharajullu and Karps Shanmugam in Negotiations. Emilee Freeman and Heather Johns were quarter-finalists in the IHL Moot, with Emilee named Best Speaker in the preliminary rounds, and Daryl Wong, Audrey Driscoll and George Holgate were national Runners-Up in the grand final of the Championship Moot. ALSA will be held in Hobart in 2016 — no doubt there are more successes to come for our amazing students! In addition, the Jessup Moot Competition is strongly supported by the Faculty, and the 2015 team of Audrey Driscoll, Emilee Freeman, Rohan Nanthakumar, Luke Ogden and Daryl Wong received third prize in the Best Respondent Memorial category.

Last year saw similar success with Aaron Moss, Madeleine Pillans and Adrian Hilly placed second in the Castan Centre Human Rights Law Moot, the Jessup Moot team reached the quarter-finals with three team members also placed in the Top 10 Oralists, and the AAT team of Tom Marshall, Nirmal Kanagavijayan and Sarah Fox reached the quarter-finals. The ALSA IHL team received third place, and Hannah Salisbury and Rochelle Hodge placed second in Australia's first Animal Law Moot competition, Rochelle also placing fifth in the Best Speaker Award. In 2013, Penelope Owen won the ALSA Witness Examination competition, and David Tan and Kristy Riley reached the finals of the IHL Moot. In the same year, the Gibbs Constitutional Moot team were semi-finalists.

UTAS Law has a number of intervarsity teams currently competing or preparing to compete. The AAT team of Lauren Hargraves, Rochelle Hodge and Daniel Westbury have reached the quarter-finals. Aaron Moss, Emilie McDonnell and Maddy Pillans performed well in the Castan Moot but were unfortunately knocked out in the quarter-finals by an extremely tiny points margin. The teams for Animal Law (Michael Flanagan, Rosie Battaglene and Dinah Amrad), Gibbs Constitutional Law (Audrey Driscoll, Daryl Wong and Will Bartlett) and SULS Women's Law (Lauren Hargraves, Georgia Mullen and Heidi White) are yet to compete and we wish them the best. The Faculty of Law has joined with TULS to find funding for most of our teams but unfortunately the Women's team is still short of funds —  tax-deductible donations can be made through the UTAS Foundation (describe your gift as 'law-moots').

For students in the first few years of their law degree, the TULS competitions officer, Carolyn Scott, will be running the junior moot competition this semester. More details are upcoming but will likely include a workshop from this year's ALSA competitors followed by negotiations, client interviews and moot competitions. Participation in such an event is a fantastic start for students with a passion for advocacy!

Published on: 18 Sep 2015 5:00pm