Faculty of Law

New PhD Scholarship offered in International Environmental Law and Governance

Earth from Space


PhD Scholarship in International Environmental Law and Governance
The UTAS Faculty of Law and Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies are seeking national and international applicants for a PhD scholarship (AUD$25,849 p/a over 3 years) in the field of international environmental law and governance. The scholarship includes some relocation funding and a waiver of tuition fees. It is open to students wishing to research one of the following areas:


  •  Climate Change Law and Governance
  •  International Environmental Law and Governance
  •  Antarctic Law and Governance
  •  Ocean Law and Governance
  • Geoengineering Law and Governance
  • Climate Change Justice

High quality students with honours (or equivalent) undergraduate degrees in law, international relations and/or environmental studies are invited to apply. 

The PhD project will draw upon the renowned strengths of the Faculty of Law and IMAS as leading international centres in the study of the environment, climate change, Antarctic and oceans law and governance. It will interest candidates who are planning careers in international environmental affairs, in private legal practice or working in government, United Nations agencies, inter-governmental organisations, non-governmental organisations and academia. 

The supervision team for this PhD research will be led by Dr Jeffrey McGee, Senior Lecturer in Climate Change/Marine/Antarctic Law at UTAS.

There are various other leading researchers in climate change, oceans and Antarctic law and governance who may participate in the supervision research team including; Professor Jan McDonald (Environmental and Climate Change Law), Professor Ben Richardson (Environmental Law), Professor Marcus Haward (Oceans/Antarctic Governance), Dr Julia Jabour (Oceans/Antarctic Law) and Dr Peter Lawrence (International Environmental Law/Climate Justice). 

The PhD experience will be based in the unique city of Hobart, Tasmania, an international centre for Oceans and Antarctic research and a leading place for environmental law research and teaching within Australia. Hobart is the home of the CSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research Divisions and the Australian Antarctic Division. Hobart is also the capital of Tasmania, home to a world-class art museum, centre of a flourishing local gourmet food culture and gateway to world heritage listed national parks in Southern Tasmania.

Applications close 30th September 2015.

Want to find out more? Contact us:
Dr Jeff McGee: Jeffrey.McGee@utas.edu.au | +61 3 62267564

Published on: 17 Jul 2015 2:46pm