Need specialist advice?

Research & Learning Services Librarians enable successful teaching, learning and research, targeting graduate attributes and research outputs, by building productive relationships with the UTAS community.

Research & Learning Services Librarians help you to
  • Save time
  • Maximise your research impact
  • Access relevant information
  • Manage your references
  • Support your students

Request a Research Consultation

Your Research is supported by Research & Learning Services Librarians who

  • Develop, manage and provide access to high quality Library collections
  • Advise on key disciplinary sources of literature and data
  • Provide expertise in effective searching
  • Offer strategies for saving time and keeping up-to-date, using alerts for new publications in your field
  • Help you promote your research globally
  • Provide advice on measuring your research impact

As a researcher, you may

Your teaching and students are supported by Research & Learning Services Librarians who:

  • Work with you to build information and research skills and assessment into your curricula
  • Provide online support for all information and research skill classes, for example presentations in MyLO,  in library guides or short video help modules
  • Provide library guides including subject guides and online information skills help for your students
  • Collaborate with you to ensure library collections are current and relevant
  • Work with you to develop new course proposals by providing Library Impact Statements
  • Offer Reference help-desk services
  • Provide advice on the provision of required texts and recommended readings for Unit Reading Lists 

Library collections are supported by Research & Learning Services Librarians who work with you to

  • ensure the currency and relevance of Library collections for your research and teaching
  • monitor and review the usage of journals and databases and facilitate appropriate changes to subscriptions
  • plan and document annual priorities for collection development
  • manage budget allocations and advise of expenditure by your school or faculty

Who is my Research & Learning Services Librarian?

To find the answer please click on your Faculty name.

Australian Maritime College

Librarian

Officer

National Centre for Marine
Conservation and Resource Sustainability

Ian Bollard
Ian.Bollard@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3900

Mike Williams
M.Williams@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6324 3894

National Centre for Maritime Engineering

Ian Bollard
Ian.Bollard@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3900

Hung Nguyen
Hung.Nguyen@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6324 9752

National Centre for Ports and Shipping

Ian Bollard
Ian.Bollard@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3900

Peter Cain
P.Cain@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6324 9752

Maritime Training

Ian Bollard
Ian.Bollard@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3900

Neil Pereira
N.Pereira@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6324 9833

AMC Search

Ian Bollard
Ian.Bollard@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3900

no library officer applicable

Faculty of Arts

Faculty of Arts

Librarian

Officer

Tasmanian College of the Arts    
Art
Juliet Beale
Juliet.Beale@utas.edu.au
Art Library
+61 3 6626 4375

Llewellyn Negrin
L.Negrin@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 4338

Music Juliet Beale
Juliet.Beale@utas.edu.au
Art Library
+61 3 6226 4375

A Forbes
A.Forbes@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 7351

Theatre Anna Klebansky
Anna.Klebansky@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3833
 
School of Humanities    
Aboriginal Studies Scott Wylie
Scott.Wylie@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226  2225
 
Sabine Hagstroem
Sabine.Hagstroem@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3359
Mitchell Rolls
Mitchell.Rolls@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 1719
Asian Languages & Studies Scott Wylie
Scott.Wylie@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226  2225
 
Sabine Hagstroem
Sabine.Hagstroem@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3359

Barbara Hartley
Barbara.Hartley@utas.edu.au+61 3 6226 2359

English
Scott Wylie
Scott.Wylie@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226  2225
 
Sabine Hagstroem
Sabine.Hagstroem@utas.edu.au 
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3359
 
Ralph Crane
Ralph.Crane@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2356
European Languages and Studies Scott Wylie
Scott.Wylie@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226  2225
 
Sabine Hagstroem
Sabine.Hagstroem@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3359 

Billy Badger
Billy.Badger@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2358 

History and Classics Scott Wylie
Scott.Wylie@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226  2225
 
Sabine Hagstroem
Sabine.Hagstroem@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3359 
Stefan Petrow
Stefan.Petrow@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2304
Philosophy and Gender Studies Scott Wylie
Scott.Wylie@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 2225
 
Sabine Hagstroem
Sabine.Hagstroem@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3359
Graham Wood
Graham.Wood@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6324 3920
School of Social Sciences    
Politics and International Relations Ruairi Murphy
Ruairi.Murphy@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 2239

Susan Bell
Susan.Bell@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3139
Terry Narramore
T.E.Narramore@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2332

 

Journalism Media and Communications Ruairi Murphy
Ruairi.Murphy@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 2239
 
Sociology and Criminology Ruairi Murphy
Ruairi.Murphy@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 2239
 
Susan Bell
Susan.Bell@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3139
 
Social Work

Ruairi Murphy
Ruairi.Murphy@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 2239
 
Susan Bell
Susan.Bell@utas.edu.auLaunceston Library
+61 3 6324 3139

Faculty of Education

Librarian

Officer

Education (Hobart, Launceston and Cradle Coast)

Ruairi Murphy
Ruairi.Murphy@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 6226 2239

Anna Klebansky
Anna.Klebansky@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3833

 

Faculty of Health

Librarian

Officer

Human Life Sciences

Louise Earwaker
Louise.Earwaker@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3951

Tracy Douglas
T.Douglas@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6324 5481

Clinical School
(Hobart & Launceston)

Liz Hellsing
Liz.Hellsing@utas.edu.au
Clinical Library
+61 3 6226 4812

Libby Seymour
Elizabeth.Seymour@utas.edu.au
Clinical Library
+61 3 6226 4813

Louise Earwaker
Louise.Earwaker@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3951

Richard Turner
Richard.Turner@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 4787

Medicine

Liz Hellsing
Liz.Hellsing@utas.edu.au
Clinical Library
+61 3 6226 4812

Libby Seymour
Elizabeth.Seymour@utas.edu.au
Clinical Library
+61 3 6226 4813

Tracy Green
Tracy.Green@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 4830

Menzies Research Institute Tasmania

Liz Hellsing
Liz.Hellsing@utas.edu.au
Clinical Library
+61 3 6226 4812

Libby Seymour
Elizabeth.Seymour@utas.edu.au
Clinical Library
+61 3 6226 4813

Leigh.Blizzard
Leigh.Blizzard@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 7719

Nursing & Midwifery
(Hobart, Launceston, Burnie, Sydney & Distance)

Libby Seymour
Elizabeth.Seymour@utas.edu.au
Clinical Library
+61 3 6226 48133

Susan Bell
Susan.Bell@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3139

Andrea Miller
Andrea.Miller@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6324 3085

Paramedicine
(Hobart & Sydney)

Libby Seymour
Elizabeth.Seymour@utas.edu.au
Clinical Library
+61 3 6226 4813

Paula McMullen
Paula.McMullen@utas.edu.au
+61 2 8572 7994

Pharmacy

Libby Seymour
Elizabeth.Seymour@utas.edu.au
Clinical Library
+61 3 6226 4813

Rahul Patel
Rahul.Patel@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 1079

Psychology
(Hobart & Launceston)

Libby Seymour
Elizabeth.Seymour@utas.edu.au
Clinical Library
+61 3 6226 4813

Louise Earwaker
Louise.Earwaker@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3951 

Rural Clinical School
(Burnie)

Louise Earwaker
Louise.Earwaker@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3951


Centre for Rural Health
(Hobart & Launceston)

Liz Hellsing
Liz.Hellsing@utas.edu.au
Clinical Library
+61 3 6226 4812

Libby Seymour
Elizabeth.Seymour@utas.edu.au
Clinical Library
+61 3 6226 4813

Louise Earwaker
Louise.Earwaker@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3951

Tony Barnett
Tony.Barnett@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6324 4011

Wicking Dementia Research & Education Centre

Liz Hellsing
Liz.Hellsing@utas.edu.au
Clinical Library
+61 3 6226 4812

Libby Seymour
Elizabeth.Seymour@utas.edu.au
Clinical Library
+61 3 6226 4813







Faculty of Law

Librarian

Officer

Law School

Deb Bowring
Deborah.Bowring@utas.edu.au
Law Library
+61 3 6226 2841

 

Faculty of Science, Engineering & Technology

Librarian

Officer

Agricultural Science & TIA

Heather Mitchell
Heather.Mitchell@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 7217

Karen Barry
Karen.Barry@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2636

Antarctic Climate and Ecosystems Co-operative Research Centre (ACE CRC) - see also IMAS

Chris Evans
Chris.Evans@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 2132

Julia Jabour
Julia.Jabour@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2978

Architecture and  Design

Sabine Hagstroem
Sabine.Hagstroem@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3359

Steven Fleming
Steven.Fleming@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6324 4481
 


Biological Sciences  Chris Evans
Chris.Evans@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 2132
 Greg Jordan
Greg.Jordan@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2596

Chemistry (Hobart and Launceston)

Heather Mitchell
Heather.Mitchell@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 7217

Ian Bollard
Ian.Bollard@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3900

Trevor Lewis
Trevor.Lewis@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6324 3826

Computing & Information Systems (Hobart and Launceston)

Heather Mitchell
Heather.Mitchell@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 7217

Ian Bollard
Ian.Bollard@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3900

TBA

 

Waheed Hugrass
Waheed.Hugrass@utas.edu.au
+61 2 6324 3993

Earth Sciences  & CODES

Chris Evans
Chris.Evans@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 2132

Garry Davidson
Garry.Davidson@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2815

Engineering (Hobart)

Heather Mitchell
Heather.Mitchell@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 7217

Bernardo Leon De La Barra
Bernardo.LeonDeLaBarra@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 7279

Geography and Spacial Sciences (Hobart, Launceston and Cradle Coast)

Chris Evans
Chris.Evans@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 2132

Louise Earwaker
Louise.Earwaker@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3951

Peter McQuillan
P.B.McQuillan@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2840

Mathematics (Hobart and Launceston)

Heather Mitchell
Heather.Mitchell@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 7217

Ian Bollard
Ian.Bollard@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3900

Yuliya Karpievitch
Yuliya.Karpievitch@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2446

Physics (Hobart)

Heather Mitchell
Heather.Mitchell@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 7217

Andrew Cole
Andrew.Cole@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2438

Regional Science (Cradle Coast)

Louise Earwaker
Louise.Earwaker@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3951

 


TIA (Hobart, Launceston and Cradle Coast)

Heather Mitchell
Heather.Mitchell@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 7217

Ian Bollard
Ian.Bollard@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3900

Karen Barry
Karen.Barry@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2636

Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies

Librarian

Officer

IMAS     (Hobart and Launceston)

Chris Evans
Chris.Evans@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 2132

Ian Bollard
Ian.Bollard@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3900

Julia Jabour
Julia.Jabour@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2978
David Tarbath
David.Tarbath@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6227 7231

Neil Pereira
Neil.Pereira@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6324 9833

Tasmanian School of Business and Economics

Librarian

Officer

Accounting & Corporate Governance (Hobart, Launceston and Cradle Coast)

Janet Henderson
Janet.Henderson@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+ 613 6226 2226

Sabine Hagstroem
Sabine.Hagstroem@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3359

John Minas
John.Minas@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 1931

Economics & Finance (Hobart, Launceston and Cradle Coast)

Janet Henderson
Janet.Henderson@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 2226

Sabine Hagstroem
Sabine.Hagstroem@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3359

Michael Brooks
Michael.Brooks@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2286

Management and Tourism

Janet Henderson
Janet.Henderson@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 2226 

Sabine Hagstroem
Sabine.Hagstroem@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3359

Morgan Miles
Morgan.Miles@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6324 3329

 

Librarian

International Students (Hobart and Launceston)

Scott.Wylie
Scott.Wylie@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 2225

Susan Bell
Susan.Bell@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3139

 

University Preparation Program (UPP)
(Hobart and Launceston)

Janet Henderson
Janet.Henderson@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+ 613 6226 2226

Louise Earwaker
Louise.Earwaker@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3951

Disability services contact for Library

Janet Henderson
Janet.Henderson@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+ 613 6226 2226

 

Tasmanian Institute of Learning and Teaching

 

Ruairi Murphy
Ruairi.Murphy@utas.edu.au
Morris Miller Library
+61 3 6226 2239

Anna Klebansky
Anna.Klebansky@utas.edu.au
Launceston Library
+61 3 6324 3833