Division of the Provost

Distinguished Professors, Emeritus Professors and Honorary Degrees

Distinguished Professors

Nominations for Distinguished Professor may be accorded to eminent University of Tasmania professors of exceptional distinction who have made an outstanding and sustained contribution in their field/discipline and to the University.

For more details please see the Distinguished Professors Policy and Procedure http://www.utas.edu.au/policy/alphabetical?result_216847_result_page=D

Emeritus Professors

The University Council, on recommendation from the Ceremonial and Honorary Degrees Committee, may confer the title of Emeritus Professor, or Distinguished Emeritus Professor, as set out in University Council Ordinance 10.

Distinguished Professors and Emeritus Professor Nominations

When submitting Distinguished and/or Emeritus Professor nominations, please provide the following:

  • A Contextual Statement from the nominator outlining the grounds on which the nomination is made and citing the benefits of the nomination to the University
  • A letter/memo of endorsement by the PVC College, Executive Dean, Head of Institute, Principal of the University College
  • Current curriculum vitae for the nominee
  • The Provost Office will request a CV analysis from the Office of Research to support the nomination.

Nominations for Distinguished Professor and Emeritus Professor can be lodged with the Provost Office. Nominations will be considered by the Ceremonial and Honorary Degrees Committee who meet twice per year:

  • Wednesday 7 March 2018
  • Wednesday 5 September 2018

Honorary Degrees

Council may confer honorary degrees ‘on people who, in the opinion of the Council, are distinguished visitors or outstanding scholars or who have given outstanding service to the Commonwealth, the State or the University’. Candidates may be considered under one or more of the categories. Please see the following guidelines and advice regarding nomination material.