Skip to content

Prestige for the Central Science Laboratory's A/Prof Noel Davies

Published 17 Dec 2012

Recipient of the 2012 Lloyd Smythe Medal and the 2013 Morrison Medal.

The Morrison Medal honours the contributions of Professor Jim Morrison to the development of mass spectrometry in Australia and New Zealand. It is awarded in recognition of internationally significant achievements in any area of mass spectrometry. Previous recipients include Prof Margaret Sheil, immediate past CEO of the Australian Research Council and now Provost of the University of Melbourne.

A/Prof Davies has been recognised for his large and important contributions to natural product chemistry in Australia over 38 years. He  received the medal just prior  to presenting the plenary Morrison lecture at the 24th Conference of the Australian and New Zealand Society for Mass Spectrometry in Melbourne, February 2013.

The prestigious Lloyd Smythe Medal is the Royal Australian Chemical Institute’s (RACI) medal for outstanding contributions to Analytical  Chemistry. The medal was presented to Noel at the RACI Research and Development meeting in Geelong in December 2012 where he  presented an invited lecture.