Rural Clinical School

Director's Welcome

Welcome to the Rural Clinical School (RCS) of the University of Tasmania, based on the North West Coast of Tasmania.

The RCS teaches medical students in the final two years of the MBBS program.  The first three years of the MBBS are based in Hobart, however the rural teaching over the first three years are run by the RCS.  Rural teaching involves at least 4 weeks of residential placements in a rural area.

The RCS has two campuses based at the North West Regional Hospital (NWRH) in Burnie and at the Mersey Community Hospital (MCH) in Latrobe.  Students work across both campuses, in the community and in General Practices in the region.

The RCS has a strong national reputation for excellence in rural medical education.  The high level commitment and enthusiasm of our academic team and the excellent relationships we have with regional health and community partners provide a rich clinical program for our students.

The RCS is one of 17 federally funded clinical schools around Australia that have been developed to train health professionals in rural and remote Australia.  Students and medical staff are choosing to study and work in rural areas because of these training opportunities.

The RCS has strong links with the local community who are active in the teaching and development of our medical students. Staff and students are actively involved with local organisations and schools promoting healthy lifestyles and health careers.

Communities and schools who would like to know more about our activities, please look at our Community Engagement page, and join us on Facebook for up to date information.

Medical students who are interested in studying with us in their clinical years please have a look at our Student page.

If you would like to know more about our school, please take the time to have a look at this website, or our Facebook page, and if you have any enquiries we can be contacted via

Kind regards

Associate Professors Lizzi Shires (left) and Deb Wilson

Associate Professors Lizzi Shires (left) and Deb Wilson
Co Directors Rural Clinical School