Rural Clinical School

Scholarships and Awards

North-eastern view from RCS

The Rural Clinical School (RCS) offers additional support to students through Scholarships and Awards based in the North West.

Enjoying a break on the balcony of RCS2016 Year 5 Students on RCS Balcony

Simon Monks Memorial Award for Excellence in General Practice

Dr Simon Monks was a highly respected partner in East Devonport Medical Centre prior to his sudden death in March 2007. He was an active participant on the General Practice North West (GPNW) Board as well as in the teaching and mentoring of medical students from the University of Tasmania's Rural Clinical School. He was awarded the GPNW Long Service Award in 2005 in recognition of twenty years of continuous service to the North West Tasmania community.

Simon was a quiet, thoughtful person and aBen Dodds 2017 Simon monks Memorial Award recipient very committed and caring GP, who took a proactive and dedicated approach to achieve excellence in his clinical practice, his supervision of medical students and in all aspects of his personal and family life.

The Simon Monks Memorial Award was established in 2008 by the former Board of the North West Tasmania Division of General Practice Inc. (General Practice North West) in recognition of the valuable contribution that Dr Simon Monks made to the profession of general practice and community health in the North West region of Tasmania.

Following the establishment of Tasmania Medicare Local Ltd. (TML) and the transfer of most of GPNW business to TML, GPNW members resolved at their Annual General Meeting in October 2012 to wind-up the Association by June 2013.

Prior to its wind-up GPNW established a new Trust known as the Simon Monks Memorial Foundation (SMMF) to which the balance of the GPNW funds, following acquittal of all its contractual obligations, were paid. These funds are now held by the SMMF to be dedicated in perpetuity for the promotion and encouragement of education in general practice and primary health care in North Western and Western Tasmania.


Awarded for outstanding performance in one general practice attachment, to a fourth year medical student involved in the Rural Clinical School teaching program in the North West region of Tasmania.

Nominations are made by the general practice that hosts the student and the successful nominee is selected by a panel with representation from the Foundation and the Rural Clinical School.


$3,000 and framed award certificate

Applications: Requests for nominations are sent to GP Clinics twice a year.
Information: Kayla Millhouse - Community Engagement. Ph: +61 3 6430 1694 or Email:

Local Rotary Club Scholarship in Rural Medicine

The Wynyard and Burnie Rotary Clubs award on alternate years a generous scholarship to a Year 4 Rural Clinical School medical student who is commencing the final two years of clinical studies in MBBS at the University of Tasmania Rural Clinical School.

The Rotary Club generously provides the scholarship to encourage and support a student with an interest in rural medicine to study at the Rural Clinical School.  The scholarship is offered over a two-year period and in addition to financial support, the Club will provide honorary club membership and offer a mentor to the recipient during their studies on the North West of Tasmania.

ValueEmma Brown 2017 recipient of the Wynyard Rotary scholarship

To be advised (per annum)


Up to two years (subject to satisfactory performance)


Applicants must be commencing their 4th year of medicine at the Rural Clinical School in 2018 and intend on completing their final two years of study at the Rural Clinical School.  Students must demonstrate an interest in rural medicine, undertake a General Practice attachment in the Club’s local area as part of the curriculum in their penultimate year and commit to being involved with the Club through regular attendance at club meetings as a guest member and present occasional reports on their progress at club meetings.


Completed application forms including two Letters of Reference (at least one from a clinical academic at the University of Tasmania) should be submitted to Associate Professor, Lizzi Shires, Director, Rural Clinical School by the closing date.

Applications will open in October 2017 and the local Rotary Club who will be offering the scholarship will be advised.

Closing Date:

Close of business Monday 11 December 2017.

12 December 2017 at 5pm


For further details on the scholarship, please request the application form which is available directly from the Rural Clinical School in Burnie. Contact Kayla Millhouse, Administration Officer-Community Engagement on Ph: +61 3 6430 1694 or