Rural Clinical School

RCS students and staff see the year off in style

Rural Clinical School (RCS) students and staff enjoyed an evening of bowling, food, music, dancing and awards at the End of Year Dinner on Friday 21 October.

RCS students

The annual RCS End of Year Dinner was held at the Burnie Greens Bistro in Cooee with over 100 students, staff and guests in attendance.  Musically talented RCS students shared the spotlight with professional band '4 star nation' to provide an evening of great music for all to enjoy. 

Festivities kicked off at 5pm with students and staff enjoying a game of lawn bowls.  At 6.30pm in the Bistro guests enjoyed sumptuous finger foods and good conversation before the awarding of prizes to students and staff commenced. 

Year 4 Prizes:

Simon Monks Award - Rohan Church

Obstetrics & Gynaecology Award - Georgie Woolveridge

Psychiatry Award - Jessica Oldham

Paediatrics Award - Sabin Smith

General Practice Award - Daniele LanzlingerRCS Student Band

The Simon Monks Award was sponsored by General Practice North West (GPNW), the Obstetrics and Gynaecology Award was sponsored by the North West Private Hospital (NWPH) and the other prizes were sponsored by the RCS. 


Year 5 Prizes:

Emergency Medicine Award - Elen O'Donnell

General Medicine Award - Douglas Copson

Anaesthetics Award - Steven Van der Werf

Anaesthetics - Highly Commended - Award - Nick Ha

2011 End of Year Dinner

General Surgery Award - Patrick Lau

Orthopaedics Award - Ted Stoklosa

Chronic Disease Award - Damian Brauchli

Rural Medicine - RDAA Award - Ingrid Smethurst

Global Health - ACRRM Award - Alexandra Frain

Remote Practice - Queenstown - Maighdlin Galea

Remote Practice - Smithton - Hilary Taylor-Evans

Remote Practice - King Island - Jin Chew Chin

Community Engagement Prize - Grace Reynolds

Anaesthetics Prizes were sponsored by the Anaesthetics Department, the Department of Emergency Medicine (DEM) sponsored the Emergency Medicine Prize, RDAA and ACRRM sponsored their prizes and the rest were sponsored by the RCS. 

The RCS would like to thank all sponsors of prizes for their generous support. 

Following the 'official' awarding of prizes, Year 5 students responded by presenting their own awards to staff and students.  One favoured recipient was Dr Tom McDonagh who was awarded with a miniature version of himself.  RCS Director, Prof. Timothy Skinner formally acknowledge the wonderful job Assoc. Profs. Peter Arvier and Lizzi Shires have done this year in their joint roles as Co-Directors.

Published on: 28 Oct 2011