Faculty of Science, Engineering & Technology

UTAS awards celebrate passion and commitment of staff

Congratulations to SET Faculty staff

Hallegraeff Vice-Chancellor’s AwardMore than 30 University of Tasmania academic and professional staff members have been honoured in a Celebration of Excellence ceremony and dinner in Hobart.

The annual awards celebrate those who have excelled in their contributions to the work of the University.

The Vice Chancellor, Professor Peter Rathjen, who presented the awards, said UTAS staff has built an enviable international reputation for excellence in teaching and research and in the learning and research environment they provide.

“This is the result of the commitment, the integrity, the expertise and the willingness that our academics display in their work,” he said.

“It is also an outcome of our engagement with the community at both the local and national level, and the commitment and dedication of our professional staff in supporting our teaching and research activities.”

This year’s recipient of the Distinguished Service Medal is Professor Kate Warner, Director of the Tasmania Law Reform Institute which is based at the Law Faculty. Prof Warner, who became the first woman Dean of the Faculty in 1992, received a silver medallion and a $25,000 grant.

The inaugural recipient of a new honour – the Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Outstanding Contributions by Voluntary Position Holders - is Dr John Greenhill.

A voluntary position-holder since his retirement from the Department of Physics in the mid-1990s, Dr Greenhill has not only carried out a significant international research program at Mt Canopus Observatory but has been manager and director of that facility. He has also been prime instigator of the new optical telescope project at Bisdee Tier.

The Bookend Trust, a philanthropic environmental education initiative created and run by UTAS alumni and staff volunteers, won the Team Award. The team comprises Director Dr Niall Doran, Assoc Prof Alastair Richardson, Mr Andrew Hughes, Dr Regina Magierowski, Mrs Felicity Wilkinson, Ms Ninna Millikin and Mr Peter Harcourt.

Sharing the spotlight with the Celebration of Excellence award-winners was Professor Jeff Malpas from the School of Philosophy, who has been honoured as a Distinguished Professor. The Provost, Professor David Rich, who presented Prof Malpas, said that on the way to assembling an impressive record of research grant successes he “had assumed the role of a ‘public intellectual’ through broadcasts, public lectures and workshops”.

Celebration of Excellence award-winners also include:

Professor Adrian Franklin, Associate Professor Erica Bell and Mr Neil Haddon (Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Outstanding Community Engagement);

Dr Costan Magnussen, Prof Vadim Kamenetsky and Prof Gustaaf Hallegraeff (Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Outstanding Contributions to Research and Research Training);

Prof Susan Jones (Vice-Chancellor’s Commendations for Sustained Commitment to Teaching Excellence);

Dr Brendan Gogarty and Ms Anja Hilkemeijer (Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Programs that Enhance Learning);

Assoc Prof Leon Barmuta, Dr Andrea Carr, Mrs Tracy Douglas, Dr Michael Gardiner, Assoc Prof Mark Hovenden, Dr Hui Jiao, Dr Nenagh Kemp, Dr Emma Pharo, Dr Michelle Phillipov and Dr Michael Powell (Vice-Chancellor’s Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning);

Miss Karine Cadoret and Ms Pamela Page (Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Exceptional Performance by Professional Staff).


Published on: 29 Oct 2012