Faculty of Science, Engineering & Technology

Winifred Curtis Award

The Winifred Curtis Award for Excellence in Science Education is an initiative of the Science Teachers' Association of Tasmania (STAT) and is sponsored by Faculty of Science, Engineering & Technology. It is open to science teachers and educators in Tasmania who demonstrate a longstanding commitment to science education, in a manner that honours the memory of Winifred Curtis.

Dr Winifred Curtis was a truly remarkable Tasmanian, and author of the five volumes of The Student's Flora of Tasmania (published 1956 -1994). Having migrated from the UK in 1939, Dr Curtis took up a position with the Dept. of Botany at UTAS in Hobart. As well as teaching and inspiring whole generations of students, Dr Curtis was also instrumental in establishing the present Tasmanian Herbarium in 1977. Such was her passion for Tasmanian plants that, thirty years after retirement she was still working on the final volumes of her botanical guide.

Nominees for the Winifred Curtis Award can be classroom teachers or science education officers, in short, any person who helps to instil a passion for science in our youth.

Jeannie-Marie LeroiApplications close in March each year. The Award Medal plus $500 is presented at CONSTAT, the annual conference of the Science Teachers Association of Tasmania.

For more details visit the Science Teachers Assocation of Tasmania website

Past winners of the Winifred Curtis Award have included:

  • 2015 - Ann Burke, Hellyer College
  • 2014 - Susan Bowler, Ogilvie High School
  • 2013 - Kurt Memish, Science Teachers Association of Tasmania
  • 2012 - Margaret Hosford, Tasmanian Science Talent Search
  • 2011 - Jill Reade, Queechy High School & University of Tasmania
  • 2010 - Jeannie-Marie LeRoi, University of Tasmania
  • 2009 - Martin George, Launceston Planetarium
     & Claire Blichfeldt, Ogilvie High School
  • 2008 - William Briginshaw, Riverside High School
  • 2007 - Pam Elliott, Marine Discovery Centre