Current Students

Great chemistry at ACROSS

Premier science awards

UTAS' Australian Centre for Research on Separation Science  (ACROSS) has received a variety of accolades recognising its academic and research excellence.

Professor Paul Haddad has become the first Australian to win the American Chemical Society (ACS) Chromatography Award, an honour given to scientists at the peak of their profession.

It is tantamount to an Oscar in the world of separation science.

Prof Haddad will be officially presented with the award next April at a gala event in New Orleans during the ACS National Meeting.

Prof Haddad and his ACROSS colleague Associate Professor Greg Dicinoski were also recently honoured closer to home in the state government's Tasmanian Science Excellence Awards.

Prof Haddad was presented with the Premier's Tasmanian Scientist of the year Award. He said he was 'proud and honoured' to be the inaugural recipient of the award and thanked the Premier for introducing it.

"It is very important to recognise science in Tasmania.

"It is great to receive this award but there are a lot of people I collaborate with and we will share this award together."

Assoc Prof Dicinoski was presented with the Minister's Science Innovation Award for the ACROSS project Scantex, an anti-terrorism device which detects the presence of home-made explosives.

Assoc Prof Dicinoski thanked the selection committee and his colleagues involved in the development of Scantex.

"I'd like to acknowledge their contribution to this product, which will make it safer for members of the public when they travel, as Scantex makes it possible to detect a much wider range of explosive devices," he said.

"Hopefully this will lead to a commercial product in the very near future."

UTAS' Assoc Prof Calum Wilson from TIA was a finalist for the Minister's Science Innovation Award and the Premier's Tasmanian Scientist of the Year Award category.

UTAS' Prof Graeme Jones, from the Menzies Research Institute Tasmania, was also a finalist in the Premier's Tasmanian Scientist of the year Award category.

Image: (Left to right) Professor Paul Haddad, Minister David O'Byrne and Associate Professor Greg Dicinoski at the presentation of the Tasmanian Science Excellence Awards.

Published on: 28 Aug 2012 12:38pm