Current Students

Orchestra program will be a sight and sound to behold

AISOI flaming eye

Australia’s finest young musicians will converge on Hobart from December 3 to December 16 for the seventh annual Australian International Symphony Orchestra Institute (AISOI) concert program.

AISOI is one of the most innovative and professionally structured orchestral training programs in the country.

The two weeks of intensive rehearsals, tutorials and concerts are carefully planned to simulate the schedule that would be followed by a professional orchestra, culminating in performances from the orchestral repertoire.

The tutors, including conductors Arvo Volmer, Kristjan Jarvi, Alexander Briger and Fabian Russell, all have distinguished international orchestral careers.

Associate Professor Andrew Legg, Head of the UTAS Conservatorium of Music, said it was especially exciting to bring eminent conductors of such international standing to Hobart.

“Arvo Volmer holds a particularly significant place in the Australian and international cultural landscape and Kristjan Jarvi has recently conducted the prestigious Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra to critical acclaim.”

Prof Legg said AISOI occupies a vital place on the Australian Orchestral calendar.

“The program brings the most gifted staff and conductors from around the world and is an orchestral training experience second to none for our young musicians.

“120 musicians all under 25 performing is truly a sight and sound to behold.”

This year there will also be a cello competition. The winner will perform Haydn’s exquisite concerto in C major for cello and orchestra in the first orchestral concert.

For more information about AISOI, visit the AISOI site

Concert details

AISOI Orchestral Concert 1

Sunday 09 December
7pm Hobart City Hall
Conductor – Arvo Volmer


HAYDN Cello Concerto in C Major Hob. V11b/1
MAHLER Symphony No.5

Tickets: $40 Adults / $30 Concession / $28 groups of 10 or more

AISOI Emerging Conductors’ Concert

Friday 14 December
7pm Conservatorium Recital Hall


STRAUSS Till Eulenspiegel (Chamber Version)
DEBUSSY Prelude a l’apres midi d’un faune (Chamber Version)
IBERT Divertissement
STRAVINSKY Octet for Winds

Tickets: $15 Adults / $10 Concession

AISOI Orchestral Concert 2

Sunday 16 December
7pm Hobart City Hall
Conductor - Kristjan Järvi


KODÁLY Dances of Galánta
PROKOFIEV Romeo and Juliet Suite

Tickets: $40 Adults / $30 Concession / $28 groups of 10 or more

Published on: 13 Nov 2012 11:15am