Current Students

Talented students recognised

Talented students - business awards

New University of Tasmania Vice-Chancellor Peter Rathjen recently introduced the Faculty of Business annual student awards evening.

The Dean of the Faculty of Business, Professor Gary O’Donovan, handed out more than 50 awards and prizes to the most outstanding students in undergraduate degrees in business including Accounting, Banking, Corporate Governance, Corporate Internships, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Management, Marketing and Taxation.

Prestigious awards were also be given to exemplary Honours and postgraduate coursework students. 

One of the most prestigious awards presented was the Owen McCarthy Medal. The Medal honours the founder and first Director of the Master of Business Administration (MBA) program within the Graduate School of Management at UTAS, Professor Owen McCarthy. The medal is presented to the graduating student with the highest level of academic achievement in the MBA suit of programs and has been awarded since 1994. The first winner was Dr Stephen Gumley who also had a first class Honours degree in Engineering from UTAS, and had previously been Tasmania’s 1979 Rhodes Scholar.

The Owen McCarthy Medal was presented to Miss Ge Bei. There are currently more than 150 students enrolled in the suit of MBA programs and Miss Bei was the outstanding graduating student in 2010. In her MBA (Professional Accounting) Miss Ge achieved 14 High Distinctions and two Distinctions, an outstanding performance for any graduating year.

The awards evening attracted more than 100 guests and was opportunity to celebrate prize-winners, thank prize donors and publicly acknowledge appreciation of support for the Faculty and students.

Sponsors for the 2010 awards:

  • Australian Taxation Office
  • Australian Finance Conference Prize
  • Australian Human Resources (AHIR)
  • C H Grey
  • Clemenger Tasmania
  • CPA Australia
  • Deloitte
  • Economic Society of Australia (Tas Branch)
  • Geoffrey Lancaster Award
  • Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia
  • JB Bridgen Memorial
  • Jenny Milne Memorial
  • Financial Planning Association
  • Launceston Chamber of Commerce
  • National Institute of Accountants Prizes
  • Ruddick’s
  • Searson Buck
  • Tasmanian Audit Office
  • Tasmanian Chamber of Commerce & Industry
  • Taxation Institute of Australia
  • Taxpayers Australia
  • Tenbensel and Dee
  • SAP Australian User Group
Photo (left to right), Kristian Aaberg - CPA Australia Prize for Highest Achievement in the BBus (Hons) (Accounting and Corporate Governance), Leigh Cuthbertson – Economic Society of Australia (Tas Branch) Prize for Best Performance in Quantitative Economic Analysis with a Distinction minimum and the TCCI Prize for Best Performance in International Economics (shared),  Dean of the UTAS Faculty of Business Professor Gary O’Donovan, Stephanie Wallace – Jenny Milne memorial Prize for Best Honours Dissertation in the Bachelor of Economics and UTAS Vice-Chancellor Professor Peter Rathjen.

Published on: 05 Apr 2011 8:29am