Current Students

Tas Pharmacy Student of the Year 2012

PSOTY Winner

After some tough competition, the Tasmanian winner of Pharmacy Student of the Year (PSOTY) was announced: fourth year UTAS student Daniel Hoyle.

On Wednesday 12th September, six competitors battled it out in the PSOTY state finals in an effort to prove their studying prowess and to gain the champion title.

Competition was tough, with a very close match fought by fellow peers Jack Muir Wilson, Sara Al Zubaidy, Jonathon Nixon, Soumya Rambhatla and Jasper Young.

However, it was Daniel's ability to confidently answer in a counselling session with a well-balanced combination of knowledge and empathy that saw him take the title.

Head of School, Professor Greg Peterson, is thrilled with the news.

"Daniel is a very nice young man. We are extremely proud of him and wish him luck at the Pharmacy Australia Congress in October," he said.

Daniel already has a long list of achievements. He is currently completing integrated Honours in the Bachelor of Pharmacy with UTAS. He holds a RAAF Assoc (Tas) WAAAF Branch Honours Scholarship in Alzheimer's Disease and he has been on the Dean's Roll of Excellence for the Faculty of Health Science at UTAS for the past three years.

As part of his prize, Daniel will be flying to Melbourne to compete in the PSOTY national final to be held at the Pharmacy Australia Congress 2012 from 18-21 October.

Image: L-R, Prof Greg Peterson, Mr Duncan McKenzie (RHH Pharmacy Site Manager), Mr Daniel Hoyle Ms Helen Howarth (TAS PSA Rep).

Published on: 17 Sep 2012 4:35pm