Skip to content

Alumni receive national award for lifetime achievements in criminology

Published 02 Dec 2016

Two University of Tasmania alumni have been honoured with a national award for their lifetime achievements and contribution to criminology.

Her Excellency Professor the Honourable Kate Warner AM, Governor of Tasmania and Professor Duncan Chappell, Honorary Professor at the University of Sydney’s Law School were this year jointly awarded the Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology (ANZSOC) Distinguished Criminologist Award.

The award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding and significant contribution to Australian and New Zealand criminology in areas including teaching and scholarship and involvement in criminology in public life.

Professor Warner graduated from the University of Tasmania with an Honours degree in law in 1970 and an LLM by thesis in 1978.

She was the first female Dean at the University’s Law Faculty (1992-1994) and also became a Professor in 1996. She was the Director of the Tasmanian Law Reform Institute (2001-2014), where she oversaw 20 projects on issues ranging from bail reform to intoxication and sentencing.

She is a nationally and internationally recognised expert in sentencing in Australia, having published extensively in the field and also received numerous awards.

In 2014, Professor Warner was announced as Tasmania’s 28th Governor. She was recognised as a member of the Order of Australia for services to law the same year.

Professor Chappell graduated with First Class Honours in Arts and Law from the University of Tasmania in 1962, and later a PhD from the University of Cambridge (1965).

He was Deputy President of the Australian Federal Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT; 1996-2001) and, prior to that, the Director of the Australian Institute of Criminology in Canberra.

He is currently an Honorary Professor in the University of Sydney’s Law School and its Institute of Criminology. He is a conjoint Professor in the School of Psychiatry at the University of New South Wales.

The award was presented at the ANZSOC Conference at Hobart’s Hotel Grand Chancellor last night, hosted by the University of Tasmania and supported by the State Government, Institute for the Study for Social Change, Australian Institute of Criminology, Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences (US), University of Tasmania’s Faculty of Law and the Tasmanian Institute of Law Enforcement Studies.

CAPTION: Dr Tara McGee, Incoming President of ANZSOC; 2016 Distinguished Criminologist Award recipients, Her Excellency Professor Kate Warner AM, Governor of Tasmania, and Professor Duncan Chappell, Honorary Professor at the University of Sydney's Law School; and Professor Rick Sarre, Outgoing President of ANZSOC. Picture: Mithun Rajshekar.