Skip to content

State's STEM stars celebrated in awards program

Published 16 Nov 2017

Five researchers from the University of Tasmania are among this year’s STEM stars after the 2017 Tasmanian STEM Excellence Awards were recently announced.

The researchers joined two other winners for a presentation ceremony in Hobart with Minister for Information Technology and Innovation Michael Ferguson MP.

The awards program is valued at $30,000 and aims to recognise people leading the way in science, technology, engineering and maths, and to inspire the next generation of scientists and engineers.

The 2017 winners include:

  • Tasmanian STEM Researcher of the Year: Professor Graham Edgar (Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies)
  • Tasmanian STEM Innovation of the Year: Dr Alexander Bissember and Associate Professor Jason Smith (Bissember and Smith). (Dr Bissember and Associate Professor Smith are University of Tasmania researchers.)
  • Tasmanian STEM Teacher of the Year for Primary Years: Philippa Clymo (Waimea Heights Primary School)
  • Tasmanian STEM Teacher of the Year for Secondary Years: Ann Burke (Marist Regional College)
  • Tasmanian STEM Communicator of the Year: Dr Emily Flies (University of Tasmania)
  • Tasmanian Young STEM Researcher of the Year: Dr Catherine Blizzard (Menzies Institute for Medical Research).

The annual awards program is supported by the Tasmanian Government, University of Tasmania, Engineering Australia and Inspiring Australia.