Society

Friends and affiliates with interests in social, cultural, and political dimensions of education attainment

A B C D E F G H I - J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y - Z

A

Abell – Dr Jill Abell – jsrabell@bigpond.net.au – retention and attrition, compulsory education, student achievement, professional learning, research in education

Ac – Rosemary Ac – rac@utas.edu.au – education, social inclusion, cognition and emotions

Alessandrini – Megan Alessandrini – Megan.Alessandrini@utas.edu.au – policy development and analysis

Andersen – Clair Andersen – Clair.Andersen@utas.edu.au – Aboriginal education; Aboriginal interpretations of UTAS sites

B

Beasy – Kim Beasy – Kim.Beasy@utas.edu.au –sustainability; social justice

Biddulph – Steve Biddulph – deeperforest@bigpond.com – protecting early childhood from formal learning pressures, boys’ education, retention, family wellbeing, parent education, fatherhood

Brewer – Deborah Brewer – Deborah.brewer@utas.edu.au – the changing and ‘critical’ role of secondary schools to enrich and develop the strengths and capacities of every student and provide all students a viable education attainment outcome oriented to future participation in tertiary studies, vocational training, work or a combination of these

Brewer – Natasha Brewer – njbrewer25@gmail.com – language, literacy, and numeracy; barriers and opportunities to support teachers' professional development

C

Clarke – Robert Clarke – Robert.Clarke@utas.edu.au – literary cultures, cultures of reading, and literacy more broadly

Crowley  – Suzanne Crowley – Suzanne.Crowley@utas.edu.au – science and maths education; the arts

D

Davison – Aidan Davison – Aidan.Davison@utas.edu.au – human geography; social and environmental justice, sustainability education

Denny – Lisa Denny – Lisa.Denny@utas.edu.au – education, work and the population; policy development specifically related to productivity, education-to-employment transitions, equality and well-being

E

Elliott – Malcolm Elliott – Malcolm.elliott@education.tas.gov.au – school education; cultural development

Emery – Sherridan Emery – Sherridan.Emery@utas.edu.au – children's cultural wellbeing in education

Eslake – Saul Eslake – Saul.Eslake@utas.edu.au – education, economy and employment

F

Fischer – Sarah Fischer – Sarah.Fischer@utas.edu.au – the connection between parental engagement and their children's higher education aspirations; factors that affect the success and retention of university students with disabilities; the internationalization of higher education and how leadership and institutional structures affect this

Fleming – Aysha Fleming – Aysha.Fleming@csiro.au – adaptive social and economic systems; community engagement; critical literacy

G

Gasperini – Robert Gasperini – robert­gasperini@utas.edu.au – outreach programmes in health research

H

Hawkins – Cherie Hawkins – Cherie.Hawkins@utas.edu.au — the role of culture in shaping aspirations and engagement in education, particularly in rural contexts;  community and regional development more broadly and how a range of factors impact on participation in school and work (and on attainment)

Henderson – Trent Henderson – Trent.Henderson@utas.edu.au – regional planning; sense of place; cultural heritage and place; local government; education in local communities

Hindrum – Cameron Hindrum – Cameron.hindrum@education.tas.gov.au – Literacy education, Arts and Arts Education, Literature

Hodgetts – Sonia Hodgetts – soniah@utas.edu.au – retention and engagement of rural and regional students

Hogan – Jan Hogan – Jan.Hogan@utas.edu.au – the ways in which difference can occupy the same place; Indigenous education

Hughes – Clarissa Hughes – Clarisa.Hughes@utas.edu.au – equity; international students; rural students; educational policy

Hynes – Kristen – k.l.hynes@utas.edu.au – Menzies Institute – investigating the impact of iodine deficiency on educational outcomes in Tasmanian children

I-J

Johnson – Ann-Marie Johnson – ann-marie.johnson@education.tas.gov.au – post grade 10 retention; education initiatives that connect young people to the world of work

Johnson – Lauren Johnson – lauren.johnson@latrobe.edu.au – history, sociology and politics of education

K

Kameniar – Barbara Kameniar – Barbara.Kameniar@utas.edu.au – educational anthropology; Indigenous education; early childhood education, education in the middle years, beginning teacher and Indigenous education; trauma and educational outcomes; educational leadership; science education; teacher education

Katersky-Barnes – Robin Katersky-Barnes – Robin.Barnes@utas.edu.au – educational aspirations and attainment, rural and regional access to higher education, parental engagement, pathways to HE and industry-ready skills

Kember – David Kember – David.Kember@utas.edu.au – student approaches to learning and the influence of teaching and assessment on them; the Chinese and Asian learner; motivation; reflective thinking; teachers’ beliefs about and approaches to teaching; action learning and research for teaching quality improvement; adult education

Kow – Felicity Kow – F.Kow@utas.edu.au – food science and nutrition; young scientists in school

L

M

Mackay – Leslie Mackay – Lesley.mackay@thesmithfamily.com.au – effective partnerships between schools and community organisations, educational attainment, student engagement, personal development

McLennan – Darlene McLennan – Darlene.McLennan@utas.edu.au – committed to assisting people with disability access and participate in tertiary education

Ming – Long Ming – Long.Ming@utas.edu.au – health and well-being

Moore – Sarah Moore – Sarah.Moore@utas.edu.au – reconciliation through music and art; embedding Aboriginal perspectives, storying place and identity through creative arts; reconciliation tools; digital learning; community cultural development

Mussared – Kiki Mussared – Kiki.Mussared@utas.edu.au – education-to-employment pathways; employer perspectives on graduates; legal self-representation and legal advocacy; social justice

N-O

Nguyen – Hoang Nguyen – Hoang.Nguyen@utas.edu.au – applied linguistics, rural health, health promotion

P-Q

Pearce – Padraig Pearce – Padraig.Pearce@utas.edu.au – structural and policy analysis

Pink – Mandy Pink – Mandy.Pink@utas.edu.au – funding opportunities

Powell – Michael Powell – Michael.Powell@utas.edu.au – rural retention

Pritchard Jeremy Pritchard – Jeremy.Pritchard@utas.edu.au – offenders and survivors and which highlights shortcomings of the criminal justice system

R

Radford – Jan Radford – J.Radford@utas.edu.au – social determinants of health, including the effects of access to and engagement with education opportunities

Raw – Leanne Raw – leanneraw1@gmail.com – impact of poverty and trauma on educational attainment; government schools

Richardson – Lesley Richardson – lesley.richardson@education.tas.gov.au – industry engagement; workforce development; school to work transitions

Rienks – Jane Rienks – Jane.Rienks@utas.edu.au – tracking outcomes (e.g., completion and retention) of whole cohorts and targeted student groups using student results data and administrative data

S

Shelly – Becky Shelly Dr – Mdaly.family@bigpond.com – social transformation

Smejkal – Lucy Smejkal – Lucy.deVreeze@utas.edu.au – legal education, self-representation, understanding the legal system

Stanley – Ken Stanley – Ken.Stanley@education.tas.gov.au – student retention; autism issues

Stringer – Penelope Stringer – Penelope.Stringer@utas.edu.au – education to employment pathways

T

Tabart – Tim Tabart – tim.tabart@gmail.com – complex social change; multi-stakeholder collaboration; outcome measurement; peer learning; personal development

Toiviainen – Leila Toiviainen – Leila.Toiviainen@utas.edu.au – educational aspirations of local communities, immigrants and refugees; professional and applied ethics education

Treanor – David Treanor – David.Treanor@utas.edu.au – improving the lives of people living with an intellectual disability in ways that promote personal flourishing in all aspects of their lives

Tubman – Claire Tubman – Claire.Tubman@utas.edu.au – social network theory and individual participation in education; social determinants of educational attainment

U-V

W

Wilson – Dr Peter Wilson – pwilson@stvirgils.tas.edu.au – Science teaching, STEM, retention beyond year 10, community engagement and student behaviour

Wong – Rita Wong – Rita.Wong@utas.edu.au – oral health, health-care and education

Y-Z

Yorke – Amanda Yorke – Amanda.Yorke@utas.edu.au – ethics education; human-animal relationships; engagement