University Council

Built Environment and Infrastructure Committee

Current Members

 Current Members

 Term Expires
 Chair Dr Peter Davis 31 December 2017
 Vice-ChancellorProfessor Peter Rathjen31 December 2018
 Chair of Academic Senate (or nominee) Professor Stephen Loo 31 December 2018
 3 other members appointed by Council, having regard to the desired skills and experience approved by Council Ms Susan Gough
Ms Sue Chen
Mr David Button
12 February 2016
31 December 2017
1st meeting 2018 
 1 additional appointment by Council until 31 December 2015Professor Elaine Stratford 
 SecretaryMs Belinda Webster 
Chief Operating Officer
Senior Executive Director (Business & Development)
Executive Director Commercial Services & Development

Professor Mike Calford
Mr David Clerk
Mr Paul Barnett
Ms Jacinta Young

Members should have skills, knowledge and industry experience in design, development and management of the environment (both natural and built).

Terms of Reference

The committee will focus on strategy and high level policy.

The committee is responsible for considering, reviewing and advising Council on the development, approval and implementation of:

  • Campus Framework Plans
  • Priorities for major capital works
  • Strategic asset management plan
  • Preventative maintenance program
  • Buildings and grounds plans
  • Design standards for building works and landscaping
  • Policies in respect of the built environment and sustainability.

Note- a major capital project is one:

  • Involving expenditure or receipt by the University of more than $500,000; or
  • of strategic or political significance to the University.

Meeting Dates and submissions

    For all University Council and Committee meeting dates, please refer to the Planning Calendar.

    Any submissions for the committee should be sent to Belinda Webster, University Secretary and Secretary to the Built Environment and Infrastructure Committee using the attached template (Word 250KB). Please email them to or post to Private Bag 51, Hobart 7001.

Related documents