University Council

Finance Committee

Current Members

Term Expires
Chair Mr Paul Gregg 31 December 2015
Vice-Chancellor (ex officio) Professor Peter Rathjen 31 December 2018
Chair of Academic Senate (or nominee) (ex officio) Professor Dianne Nicol 31 December 2015
Chair of Audit & Risk Committee Mr Harvey Gibson 31 December 2015
2 Members appointed by Council

Ms Pip Leedham
Mr Rhys Edwards

31 December 2017
31 December 2017 

SecretaryMs Belinda Webster 

Chief Operating Officer
Chief Financial Officer

Professor Mike Calford
Mr David Clerk
Mr Craig Barling

Terms of Reference

  • To provide strategic assessment and review of the UTAS financial position
  • To monitor the financial performance and activities of the University and to make recommendations to Council on financial matters as appropriate
  • To review the University's triennial budget and report to Council on its financial implications
  • To review budgets of boards, centres and other Council controlled entities operating outside the triennial budget
  • To recommend to Council University investment policy and to review that policy and oversee the investment of University funds
  • To review levels of fees and charges imposed by the University and report to Council as appropriate
  • To act as a source of advice and consultation for the Vice-Chancellor on financial matters
  • To review the University's fiscal plan and report to Council on its implications

Meeting Dates

The committee should meet at least quarterly. Meeting dates for all Council committees can be found here-

Please use the attached template for submitting papers to Council [Word 250KB] and its committee.
Any submissions should be sent to Belinda Webster, General Counsel & University Secretary and Secretary to the Finance Committee.
Private Bag 42, Hobart 7001 or

Related Documents