Work Health and Safety

Institutional Biosafety Committee

The Institutional Biosafety Committee is a sub-committee of the WHS Committee.

Terms of Reference

  1. To be the primary body responsible for promoting Work Health and Safety, minimising accidental injury and incidents, maximising exemplary work practices and ensuring a safe and healthy working environment when dealing with biological material.
  2. To be the primary source of advice to the Work Health and Safety Committee, the Vice-Chancellor and Council on all biological health and safety matters.
  3. To ensure all practices involving biological materials are conducted in accordance with legislation, codes of practice and licensing requirements.
  4. To evaluate all projects requiring IBC approval and recommend appropriately.

Tenure and frequency of meetings is not specified. The Committee meets as required.

Membership of the Committee:

ChairDr David Steele, Menzies Institute for Medical Research/Faculty of Health
Ex officioProfessor Paddy Nixon, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research)
MembersDr Stephen Tristram, School of Health Sciences
Dr Louise Roddam, School of Medicine
Mr Neill Daly, Planning & Development
Assoc Prof Greg Woods, School of Medicine
Dr Andrew Bridle, National Centre for Marine Conservation and Resource Sustainability
Dr Anthony Cook, School of Health Sciences,
Ms Belinda McEwan , Royal Hobart Hospital
Dr Calum Wilson, School of Agricultural Science
Dr Anthony Baker, School of Agricultural Science
Dr Mark Ambrose,School of Medicine 



IBC Reports (Committee Access only)