



Desire2Learn Symposium

10 a.m. to 3.30 p.m., 11 November 2014, Sir Raymond Ferrall Centre, University of Tasmania (Newnham Campus)

This Building eLearning Community of Practice (CoP) Symposium is funded by a University of Tasmania Career Scholarship. The CoP has been able to expand on the original concept with thanks to contributions from the Office of Professor Janelle Allison, Pro-Vice Chancellor (Regional Development), and the Australian Maritime College. We have invited colleagues from Deakin University, Victoria University and University of Tasmania to present on diverse technical aspects of Desire2Learn and to share information, experiences and perspectives. Many thanks for your participation!

10.00 – 10.20	Arrival at Sir Raymond Ferrall Centre/morning tea
10.20 – 10.30	Welcome and introductions (Nigel McKinlay)
10.30 – 12.30	Presentations/discussions (approx. 30 minutes per presentation/questions/discussion)
12.30 – 1.30	Lunch
1.30 – 2.30	Presentations/discussions (approx. 30 minutes per presentation/questions/discussion)
2.30 – 3.00	Break up into 'interest groups' for general discussion around themes and/or other areas of interest
3.00 – 3.30	Conclusions and looking ahead (future projects, the skills matrix, other ideas)

1. Jo Smissen: ePortfolios

(Deakin) Senior Lecturer (Educational Design), Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment

2. Mike Sturmey: Overview of Competencies

(Victoria) Academic eLearning Coordinator (Technology), Centre for Collaborative Learning and Teaching

3. Jane Acopian: Workarounds (processes, site setup)

(Deakin) Associate Lecturer (Educational Technology), Academic Development Unit, Faculty of Health

- 4. Sally Gauci: Exemplar units and their requirements/challenges (matching design and technology) (Victoria) Educational Project Officer (Blended Learning Exemplars)
- 5. Tony Carew and Carolyn King: Learning Content Templates

(UTAS) Educational Designer/Developer, Tasmanian Institute of Learning and Teaching (TILT) (UTAS) Digital Innovation Team Academic Lead, School of Medicine

6. Stephen Linquist: Perspectives on unit design

(UTAS) Educational Designer/Developer, Australian Maritime College (AMC)

7. Jo Smissen: Online umbrella sites for programs