

Guidelines for the Preparation of Nomination Materials for Honorary Degrees

Honorary Degrees

University Council may confer honorary degrees a people who 'in the opinion of the Council, is a distinguished visitor or outstanding scholar or who has given outstanding service to the Commonwealth, the State or the University.' Candidates may be considered under one or more of these categories.

Nominations

A member of the University's Council, an Executive Dean of a College, a Head of School or head of an administrative division, or other interested person may make a nomination for the conferral of an honorary degree. The University Secretary will call for nominations each year. Nominations may also, however, be submitted at any other time.

Documentation

All nominations for the conferral of honorary degrees should be supported by a citation of 300 to 500 words outlining the grounds on which the nomination is made and citing the category (or categories) under which the nominee is considered suitable for the award.

A curriculum vitae for the nominee should also be provided if possible. The nomination should, where appropriate, give the names of two (2) referees who could be approached to support the nomination.

People who can be considered for Honorary Degrees

Distinguished visitors would include visiting Heads of State or diplomats, scientists, artists, or performers of international renown who happen to be visiting Tasmania or are resident in the State for a time.

Previous conferrals include:

- HE Dr Effendi Norwawi (Malaysian Minister for Agriculture)
- Dr Stuart Challender (conductor, TSO)
- Dr Kenroku Fujii (Japanese businessman and unofficial 'ambassador' for Tasmania.

<u>**Outstanding scholars**</u> would include scholars who have made an outstanding contribution to scholarship (which may be interpreted in the wider sense to include writers, artists and performers) either in Australia or overseas.

Previous conferrals include:

- Sir Leonard Huxley (scientist overseas)
- Professor John Nicholls (scientist overseas)
- Professor Marilyn Lake (historian Australia)
- Dr Peter Conrad (writer Australia and overseas)
- Dr Graeme Murphy (dancer Australia)

<u>Outstanding service to the Commonwealth</u> would include Governors General, politicians, senior civil servants and diplomats, or persons who have acted as ambassadors for Australia through their contribution to the arts or science.

Previous conferrals include:

- Lord Casey (former Commonwealth Minister and Governor General)
 Dr Peter Dunn (Chief Defence Scientist; chemical weapons inspection program)
- Dr Ashton Calvert (Secretary, DFAT)
- The Hon Dr Neal Blewett (former Commonwealth Minister)