Skip to content

Aboriginal Leadership

Aboriginal Leadership Group

Strong Aboriginal leadership is crucial for successful Aboriginal business at the University of Tasmania. The Aboriginal Leadership Group (ALG) consists of three members, they are:

  • Pro Vice-Chancellor of Aboriginal Leadership
  • Riawunna Head of Service
  • Aboriginal Higher Education Advisor

Strategic Plan of Aboriginal Engagement Steering Committee

In addition to the Aboriginal Leadership Group, there is a Strategic Plan of Aboriginal Engagement (SPAE) Steering Committee. The Steering Committee is made of up representatives from the Tasmanian Aboriginal community with high-level experience and knowledge of the higher education sector and members of the Aboriginal Leadership Group. The SPAE Steering Committee meet bi-annually to provide high-level guidance and oversight of the implementation of the SPAE and its 7 domains. They also provide strategic advice on matters relating to how the University of Tasmania engages and supports Aboriginal students, community, research and staff outside of the SPAE.

Current Membership of the Strategic Plan of Aboriginal Engagement Steering Committee

Tasmanian Aboriginal Community Membership:

  • Tony Brown
  • Rodney Gibbins
  • Dr Emma Lee
  • Zoe Rimmer
  • June Sculthorpe
  • Kerry Sculthorpe
  • Laurette Thorp

University of Tasmania Aboriginal Leadership Group Membership:

  • Associate Professor Clair Andersen
  • Caroline Spotswood
  • Distinguished Professor Maggie Walter
  • Professor Greg Lehman 

Meeting Agendas: