Diving Safety Committee

The Diving Safety Committee (the Committee) is the advisory body responsible for supporting safe diving practices at the University of Tasmania, including in relation to relevant legislation, Australian Standards, Codes of Practice, industry requirements and the University’s Diving Minimum Standards and Procedures.

The Committee advises the University Dive Officer regarding development and implementation of relevant University policies, minimum standards and procedures.

The University of Tasmania is a member of the American Academy of Underwater Sciences (AAUS). The AAUS provides technical advice to the University of Tasmania in accordance with Scientific Diving industry standards. For the purposes of the AAUS procedures, this committee fulfils the same role as a Diving Control Board (DCB) and the University Dive Officer fulfils the same role as Dive Safety Officer (DSO).

The Committee meet quarterly.

Committee Members (voting)
Chair  Catriona MacLeod (Chair, Executive Director - IMAS) ongoing
University Dive Officer  Vallorie Hodges  ongoing
Principal Dive Officer (IMAS Taroona)Simon Talbot ongoing
Snr Tech Offc- Field Operations AMC Search Martin Filleul  ongoing
Professional Scientific Divers Antonia Cooper
2 years
Academic Scientific Divers Jeff Ross 
Chris Evans            
2 years
AMC Academic Stephen Hurd - Head of Maritime and Coastal Seafaring ongoing
Independent (external) professional diver Jonathan Benjamin (Flinders University)  2 years
Advisors to the Committees
Operational Representatives Gregory Truloff Operations  Manager (AMC)
Kirsten le Mar Operations Manager (IMAS)
Diver Health Representative Dr David Smart ongoing

Invitee - Chair Vessel Safety Committee - Michael Van Balen (Principal - AMC)

Secretariat - Support to the Committee - Safety and Wellbeing representative

For advice or to submit an Agenda item for Diving committee, please email dive.safety@utas.edu.au

Meetings 2022

Tuesday 15th  March  2022via zoom 10.30 am to 12.00pm
Tuesday 7 June 2022via Zoom2.00pm  to 3.30pm
Monday, 19th September 2022via Zoom10.30am to 12.00pm 
Thursday 8th December 2022via Zoom 2.30pm to 4.00pm