Skip to content

Alumni recognised in Australia Day 2022 Honours list

Order of Australia Medal

University of Tasmania Chancellor and alumna Alison Watkins AM is among 16 University of Tasmania alumni to receive Australia Day 2022 Honours, with achievements spanning community service, science, industry, sport and the arts.

“It has been a challenging couple of years and the recipients announced today are a reminder and reflection of the richness of spirit, selflessness and good in our community,” the Governor-General, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley said.

“The fact that the list includes the highest ever percentage of women is very encouraging and I look forward to this positive trend continuing.”

General Hurley said he will continue to increase awareness and encourage nominations for people from parts of our community that have been historically underrepresented.

“To the individuals being celebrated today, thank you for your contribution to Australia and congratulations on being recognised by your peers and your nation,” he said.

The Chancellor Alison Watkins AM has been awarded Member of the Order of Australia.

“This wonderful and fitting honour acknowledges the contributions Alison has made as a leader and her considerable contributions and significant achievements throughout her extensive career,” Vice-Chancellor Professor Rufus Black said.

“It is also reflective of Alison’s strong personal values, her commitment to equity and to the Tasmanian community.”

On behalf of the University of Tasmania we’d like to congratulate our alumni who were recognised:

Emeritus Professor Geoffrey Lancaster AO (MMus 1984) for distinguished service to the arts, particularly music, through education, performance, research and philanthropy

University of Tasmania Chancellor Alison Watkins AM (BCom 1984) for significant service to business through leadership roles with a range of organisations

Tom Fricke AM (BE Hons 1968) for significant service to engineering, to professional societies and to the community

Margaret Beiers OAM (BA 1950) for service to tertiary education, and to the community

Dr Deborah Beswick OAM (BSc 1977 DipEd 1978, MEdStud 1987) for service to education

John Cornish OAM (GDipEdAdmin 1988) for service to youth through Scouts

Belinda Hazell OAM (DipMus 2011, GradCertMgt 2014, MBAP 2017) for service to primary industry

Andrew MacGregor OAM (BSurv 1980, GradDipProfMangt 1988) for service to the community of Break O’Day

Vicki Purnell OAM (BSc 1979, Dip Ed 1980, DipFamHist 2017) for service to the community


Ambulance Service Medal

Dr Peter Mullholland (MMedSc 2010, PhD 2020)

Brett Standaloft (GradCert Clinical Redesign 2018)

Australian Police Medal

Commander Debbie Williams (BA 1996, GradCertPoliceSt 2004, BAProfHons 2017)

Conspicuous Service Cross

Captain Jyra Blake-Waller (BNurs 2014) for outstanding achievement as a Nursing Officer deployed with Joint Task Unit 629.2.3 Health Support Unit 1 during Operation COVID-ASSIST

Commander Kelly Haywood RAN (BBus 2013) for outstanding achievement as the Navy Women’s Strategic Advisor

Public Service Medal

Megan Lees (BAHons 1998) COVID-19 for outstanding public service leading Defence's national response to COVID-19 and the provision of policy and communications advice to the Australian Defence Force community

Mark Sweetingham (BAgrSc Hons 1979, PhD 1984) for outstanding public service to scientific research and development of the grains industry in West Australia

We love to hear about University of Tasmania graduates who receive awards. Please contact

Published on: 09 Feb 2022 6:30pm