Skip to content

Alumni to the fore in Queen’s Birthday Honours list

Queens Birthday honours

Retired chief justice the Honourable Ewan Crawford heads a strong representation of University of Tasmania alumni in the 2014 Queen's Birthday Honours list.

Launceston-based Mr Crawford was one of seven Australians to be named a Companion (AC) in the General Division of the Order of Australia, in Mr Crawford's case for eminent service to the judiciary and to the law, to the development of the legal profession, to tertiary education, and to the community of Tasmania.

Mr Crawford was appointed a judge in 1988 and became Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Tasmania in 2008. Among many other positions he has served as President of the Law Society of Tasmania, Chairman of the Law Foundation of Tasmania and Lieutenant-Governor of Tasmania. He was a member of the University Council from 1991 to 2001.

Honours graduate and an Honorary Research Professor at the University, Dr Ian Allison of the Antarctic Climate and Ecosystems CRC has been named an Officer (AO) in the General Division, for distinguished service to the environment as a glaciologist, to furthering international understanding of the science of the Antarctic region, and to climate research.

The former Chairman of the Menzies Institute for Medical Research, Dr Dan Norton, was also honoured with an AO, for distinguished service to business and finance, particularly in the area of infrastructure development, to the energy sector, and to medical research. He was awarded a Doctor of Laws Honoris causa by the University last December.

Graduate, former senator and current West Tamar councillor John Watson was made a Member (AM) in the General Division, for significant service to the community of the Tamar Valley, and to the Australian Parliament.

Anne Brown, a graduate who went on to become State Commissioner of Girl Guides Tasmania and a Synod representative of the Anglican Church of Tasmania, was recognised with a Medal (OAM) in the General Division, for service to youth through the Guiding movement, and to the community.

Alumni Beryl Osborne, David Peters and Adrian Howard also received a Medal (OAM) in the General Division; Mrs Osborne for service to the community of George Town, Mr Peters for service to music through the brass band movement and Mr Howard for service to veterans and their families.

Another alumnus, Inspector John Beech-Jones, received the Australian Police Medal (Tasmania), for outstanding and distinguished service over 30 years.

The Vice-Chancellor, Professor Peter Rathjen, said it was gratifying to see University of Tasmania graduates so well represented in this year's Honours list.

"The recognition of Ewan Crawford is of particular note, underlining as it does the contribution made to the legal profession, politics and many other areas of public life in Tasmania and indeed, nationally, over 120 years by the Faculty of Law."

Professor Rathjen said that while not an alumnus, Dr Norton was an esteemed member of the University 'family'.

"As Chair of the Menzies Board, he was instrumental in developing and achieving a significant growth strategy that has consolidated Menzies as a successful health and medical research institute in Australia. He also played an important role in attracting funding support for the Medical Science Two building."

Published on: 11 Feb 2015 10:01am