Skip to content

Amazing alumni receive Queen’s Birthday Honours

Queens Birthday Honours

A bird ecologist, an archbishop and a governor were among the nine University of Tasmania graduates recognised in the Queen’s Birthday 2021 Honours List.

Their pursuits and achievements are as diverse as their backgrounds; however, they all share the same qualities of selflessness, commitment and dedication.

Congratulations to the following members of our alumni community:

Tasmania’s 29th Governor of Tasmania Her Excellency the Honourable Barbara Baker AC (BA/LLB 1980) was recognised for eminent service to the people of Tasmania through leading contributions to the law, judiciary and to the administration of justice.

The Most Reverend Dr Phillip Aspinall AC (BSc 1980), who is the Archbishop of Brisbane, has been recognised for his eminent service to the Anglican Church of Australia and his development of ecumenical relationships and professional standards and commitment to social justice and welfare.

The Honourable Justice David Porter AM (LLB 1976) was recognised for significant service to the law, and to the judiciary, in Tasmania.

Professor Richard Scolyer AO (BMedSci 1987, MBBS 1990), was recognised for distinguished service to medicine, particularly in the field of melanoma and skin cancer, as a clinician, researcher and educator, and to national and international professional organisations.

Ecologist and Adjunct Researcher at the Institute of Marine and Antarctic Studies (IMAS) Dr Eric Woehler OAM (BSc Hons 1982) was recognised for service to bird ecology.

Rodney Fraser OAM (BBus 1987) was recognised for service to the community through a range of organisations.

Tasmanian artist and early childhood educator Rosie McKeand OAM (BFA 1996) was recognised for service to the community through art programs.

Alison Monk OAM (DipTeach 1975) was recognised for service to hockey.

Tasmania Police Assistant Commissioner Adrian Bodnar (GradCertPoliceSt 2007, BA ProfHons 2016) received the Australian Police Medal (APM) in recognition of his 30 years of exemplary service to the police force, and to the safety of the community of Tasmania.

Published on: 18 Jun 2021 2:24pm