Skip to content

Australia Day 2020 Honours list celebrates incredible achievements

Jennifer McMahon

Tasmania’s Police Commissioner, a Commonwealth Games Gold medallist turned lecturer and an ambulance volunteer for more than three decades were among the 2020 Australia Day honours recipients with connections to the University of Tasmania.

The Australia Day 2020 list recognised more than 1,000 outstanding and inspirational Australians from across the fields of government, the arts, sport, business, philanthropy, science, the military, public service and emergency services.

The List includes the highest ever percentage of women recipients in the General Division of the Order of Australia - 41.6 per cent.

On behalf of the University community we want to congratulate all recipients and recognise the wonderful contributions they’ve made to our society.

Here is full list of alumni, staff (present and former) and friends of the University to be recognised:

Bob Annells AM, who holds a Graduate Diploma of Urban Planning (1975) was recognised for significant service to the tourism and hospitality sector, and to public administration.

Lisa Chung AM Bachelor of Laws graduate (1983) was recognised for significant service to the community through charitable and cultural organisations.  

Emeritus Professor John O'Callaghan AM received an award for significant service to information technology, and to education. He has a Bachelor of Engineering (Hons, 1965)

Kim Seagram AM was recognised for significant service to tourism, and to business, in Tasmania. Among her achievements are establishing two Launceston restaurants and a Farmer’s Market . She is the Chair of FermenTasmania board.

Richard Warner AM was singled out for significant service to agricultural research and development. From 1999-2000 he was an honorary research fellow with the School of Agricultural Science.

Commissioner Darren Hine AO was recognised for distinguished service to law enforcement as Commissioner of Police in Tasmania, and to the community.

Gillian Groom AO received the accolade for her distinguished service to the community through healthcare, medical research, and social welfare organisations, and to the law. She graduated from a Bachelor of Laws in 2013.

Helen Connor-Kendray AO is the President of Parkinson’s Tasmania and a Bachelor of Nursing alumna (1993). She was recognised for her service to people with the neurological condition.

Caroline Johnston OAM was recognised for service to the community, she is a representative for the Green Family Award, which was set up in partnership with the University of Tasmania, to establish awards to promote and celebrate Tasmanian history and cultural heritage, and its contribution to the Australian cultural and intellectual life.

Dr Thomas Langston OAM is an alumnus of a Doctor of Education (2005) and was recognised for service to music, and to the community. He has made a significant contributor to music on the North West Coast as a choirmaster, teacher, author, festival founder and performer.

Dr Jennifer McMahon OAM is a Senior Lecturer at the University of Tasmania’s School of Education (PhD 2010) and a Commonwealth Games Gold medallist. She was recognised for service to education, and to sport. Her research has focused on protecting athletes and includes abuse in sport, athlete wellbeing and education interventions.

Ian Paterson OAM is the former Ulverstone High School Principal and a graduate from a Bachelor of Science in 1951 and a Diploma of Education in 1954. He was recognised for service to the community of Tasmania. He has served in a variety of roles in churches, rowing, education and rotary.

Dr Christopher Quinn OAM was singled out for service to research science in the field of plant systemics.

Rebekah Robertson OAM has anAssociate Diploma Drama (1988) and is an actor and the head of Transcend Support. She was recognised for service to the trans and gender diverse community.

Dr Kim Rooney OAM is an alumna, Associate Professor School of Medicine and former Director Launceston Clinical School. She holds a Graduate Certificate in University Learning and Teaching (2005) and was recognised for service to medicine.

Mrs Jocelyn Watson OAM is a former pharmacist and alumna who wasrecognised for service to the community of Launceston.

Liz Moore ACM received the Australian Corrections Medal. She graduated from a Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws in 1997 and a Master of Criminology and Corrections in 2012.

Commander Ian Whish-Wilson APM received the Australian Police Medal. He has a Graduate Certificate in Police Studies (2007) and a Bachelor of Education (2004). He has completed more than 30 years of service at Tasmania Police.

Lorraine Gardiner ASM received the Ambulance Service Medal for her service to Ambulance Tasmania in Beaconsfield for more than three decades. The alumna graduated from a Bachelor Social Work in 2000 and was a founding member of Volunteer Ambulance Officers Association of Tasmania.

Neil Van Veldhuizen ESM received the Emergency Services Medal. He is alumnus, graduating from an Associate Diploma Emergency Management in 1996. He is a volunteer member of SES North, playing a pivotal role as Deputy Unit Manager of the Incident Management Unit.

Published on: 05 Feb 2020 3:18pm