Skip to content

Alumni, staff and friends recognised in Australia Day Honours 2021

Portrait of Sarah Parry AM

‘Ordinary’ Australians making extraordinary contributions to their community were recognised in the Australia Day 2021 Honours List.

Among the 844 recipients of the prestigious award were members of the University of Tasmania community.

“Recipients have not put their hand up to be recognised,” the Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd) said.

“Most would consider the achievements that they are being recognised for to be ‘ordinary’ or just what they do.”

He said the recipients of the Order of Australia were nominated by their peers and considered by an independent process.

“The sum of these contributions speaks to our nation’s greatest strength – its people."

On behalf of the University of Tasmania we’d like to congratulate our alumni, staff (present and former) and friends who were recognised:

Ross Burridge AM, for significant service to little athletics, and to the horse racing industry. Mr Burridge, who completed a Bachelor of Commerce in 1983, is a Committee Member of the Tasmanian Racing Club and former President of both the Australian Little Athletics Association and the Tasmanian Little Athletics Association.

Gerald Loughran AM, is the Chair of Friends of the University, President of Governors and supports students via The Loughran Family Scholarship. He was recognised for significant service to the community of Tasmania through business, education and arts organisations.

Katherine MacArthur OAM (BAppScNurs 1991) was recognised for her commitment to community health and nursing. She has considerable experience working in Tasmania, remote Australia and to countries from Indonesia and Iraq to Macedonia and Tanzania.

John Robert McDonald OAM (LLB Hons 1992, GradCertLegStuds 1993) was recognised for service to the sustainable timber sector and to the community. He has worked in various positions with Forestry Tasmania (now Sustainable Timber Tasmania) and held positions on the Tasmanian Council of AIDS, Hepatitis and Related Diseases.

Emeritus Professor Doug McEvoy AM, has been at the forefront of sleep research nationally and internationally for almost three decades. Prof McEvoy (BMedSc Hons 1971, MBBS 1974, MD 1985) is the immediate past Director of the Adelaide Institute for Sleep Health at Flinders University in South Australia.  He has been recognised for significant service to medical research, particularly to respiratory and sleep health.

Sarah Parry AM (Cert IV T&D (MO), AMC, 2005) was recognised for significant service to youth through ship restoration and sailing programs. She was a former member of the Royal Australian Navy before building her tall ship, Windeward Bound, which helps young people learn to sail and discover a sense of purpose. In addition, she developed the Annual Youth Challenge with Rotary Tasmania to promote understanding, inclusiveness and community for refugees in Tasmania.

Chris Webster AM, has been a Magistrate at the Magistrates Court of Tasmania since 2006. Mr Webster (LLB Law 1974) was recognised for significant service to the law, to the legal profession, and to the community. He has extensive experience in the legal profession and holds numerous positions, including: the Hearing Commission, Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission, Senior Member, Social Security Appeals Tribunal and Commissioner, Legal Aid Commission of Tasmania.


Ambulance Service Medal

Matthew Eastham (MHlthHumanServ 2019)

Rhys Dowell (BParamedPrac 2018)

Emergency Services Medal

Cheryl Ames (BA Hons 2007)

Australian Corrections Medal

John Pickering (BA Hons 1997)

Public Service Medal

Nicholas Egan (LLB Hons 1989), for outstanding public service as State Solicitor of Western Australia

We love to hear about University of Tasmania graduates who receive awards. Please contact

Pictured above: Alumna Sarah Perry AM who established Windeward Bound. Supplied image.

Published on: 09 Feb 2021 9:32am