Skip to content

Congratulations to our four Churchill Fellows

From saving lives to making buildings more sustainable and improving health literacy, four members of our University of Tasmania alumni community have received prestigious 2020 Churchill Fellowships.

The graduates have been given life-changing opportunities to meet and work with leaders around the world to gain and exchange knowledge to help address challenges facing Australia.

Despite international travel pausing due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Winston Churchill Trust awarded 112 Australians Churchill Fellowships.

Craig Hoey (BA Hons 1990, MEnvSt 1993) will investigate how Sweden and other leading European countries are eliminating road trauma.

Sweden has a ‘Vision Zero’ goal for road safety; a vision that, long-term, no one would be killed or seriously injured on Swedish roads.  If Tasmania could match Sweden’s level of safety performance, it would prevent some 700 deaths and serious injuries over five years.

Bachelor of Engineering alumnus Richard Maddock (BE Hons 2001) was awarded a Churchill Fellowship to explore the use of traditional wood-only joints in modern robotic building construction.

Construction in Australia accounts for 25 per cent of our greenhouse emissions.

By replacing the use of energy intensive materials, such as steel and concrete, with wood, it could reduce the carbon footprint of the building.

Richard will look to Japan's craftsmen and Europe’s advanced fabrication, with the aim of melding these two methods of construction.

James Rowland (BParamedPrac Conv 2019) will travel to the USA to investigate whether lives could be saved by paramedics giving patients blood on route to hospital.

Haemorrhage is the leading cause of death in trauma patients.

In Texas, survival rates have improved by the delivery of vital blood products to patients before they arrive at hospital.

He will look at how they set the program up, including the storage, maintenance, training and cost of the intervention.

Improving health literacy in Tasmania and globally will be the focus of University of Tasmania researcher Dr Rosie Nash (BPharm Hons 2006, PhD 2016) for her Fellowship.

The public health lecturer with the University’s School of Medicine, Dr Nash will explore whether health literacy is a health, community or education issue through collaborations with health literacy peers overseas.

The opportunity will build on insights from the HealthLit4Kids program, which Dr Nash co-founded in 2016 with Dr Shandell Elmer, to help improve health literacy among children and their communities.

Churchill Fellowships are awarded to Australians who are innovative, filled with a spirit of determination, and who possess a strong ethos of wanting to benefit the community rather than themselves as individuals.

Churchill Trust CEO, Mr Adam Davey said Fellowships will not be offered in 2021, allowing the Trust to focus on supporting the recipients who are yet to travel. During the pandemic, some recipients are being given the opportunity to undertake their Fellowship remotely, so that they can progress their projects, instead of waiting for the resumption of international travel.

Read the full list of 2020 recipients on the Churchill Fellowship website.

Published on: 12 Nov 2020 9:51am