Skip to content

Human dignity drives 2019 Tim Hawkins scholarship recipient

Professor Tim McCormack and Siobhain Galea

A passion for Humanitarian Law and supporting the dignity of victims is what drives 2019 Tim Hawkins Memorial Scholarship recipient Siobhain Galea.

A Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws with First Class Honours graduate, Siobhain was increasingly drawn to the study of international humanitarian law from the start of her degree.

The more she learned the greater her concern grew for the victims of armed conflict and the fragility of the legal frameworks aiming to protect them.

Strengthening the protective and preventative mechanisms of Humanitarian Law and ensuring that justice can be consistently served on those at fault is vital to the maintenance of human dignity according to Siobhan.

Siobhan’s interest in Humanitarian Law is also reflected in her extracurricular, academic and voluntary pursuits which include achieving national success in international law mooting competitions such as the 2018 Red Cross International Humanitarian Law Moot and 2018 Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition.

The annual Tim Hawkins Memorial Scholarship will give Siobhain the opportunity to take up a research assistant position in the Prosecutor’s Office at the International Criminal Court in the Hague, for six to nine months.

Siobhain is looking forward to continuing the work of previous recipients of the Tim Hawkins Memorial Scholarship at the International Court and to making a strong contribution to this important legacy.

Siobhain’s award was the 15th presentation of the Tim Hawkins Memorial scholarship which is provided in memory of outstanding Tasmanian Tim Hawkins.

Tim graduated in the combined degrees of Commerce and Law, with First Class Honours in Law and was admitted to the Bar of the Supreme Court of Tasmania before his tragic death in Bali in October 2002, as the result of a terrorist act.

Family, friends and associates of Tim Hawkins, members of the wider community and the Tasmanian Government via the Solicitor’s Trust Fund endowed the scholarship at the University of Tasmania in perpetuity.

Published on: 07 Mar 2019 2:28pm