Skip to content

Staff, alumni to the fore in Tasmania’s Australian of the Year shortlist

Kate Warner

The University of Tasmania is celebrating the shortlisting of no less than eight of its staff and alumni for Tasmania's Australian of the Year awards, announced Friday 17 October 2014.

Two current staff members, the Director of the University's Conservatorium of Music, Associate Professor Andrew Legg (BMus 1985; PhD 2008), and the first female Dean of the Faculty of Law (pictured), Professor Kate Warner (LLB 1970; LLM 1978), are both in contention for Tasmanian Australian of the Year.

Associate Professor Legg is the founder of the ARIA-nominated Southern Gospel Choir, which will undertake its first tour of the USA next month. Professor Warner, the Director of the Tasmanian Law Reform Institute, was awarded an AM for significant service to the law in January.

Equal rights activist and former staff member Rodney Croome (BA 1987) is also a Tasmanian Australian of the Year finalist.

Historian Adjunct Professor Henry Reynolds (BA, Honours, 1960; MA 1964; Honorary Degree (Lit), 1998) and educator and former staffer Dr Graeme Faulkner (BEng 1964; BArts 1986, PhD 1994) are both contenders for Tasmanian Senior Australian of the Year.

The Tasmanian Young Australian of the Year finalists include current PhD candidate, climate change campaigner Patrick Kirkby (BSc, Hons, 2010) and alumnus Adam Mostogol (B Env Design 2009).

Tasmanian Local hero finalists include healthy living advocate and alumna Dr Bridgette Watts (MBBS, Hons, 2003; BCA 2013).

Winners will be announced in Hobart on October 30.

The Tasmanian award recipients will then join recipients from all other states and territories as finalists for the National Awards, to be presented in Canberra on 25 January 2015.

Published on: 27 Feb 2015 9:54am