Asia Institute Tasmania



  • Professor James Chin
    Association of Southeast Asian Countries (ASEAN), Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Indonesia, Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Solomon Islands

Institute Executive Officer

  • Mrs Della Clark

Affiliated Faculty

  • Dr Mark Harrison
    Asian cultural studies and history, studies of Asian society and history, Taiwan, China
  • Dr Yoji Hashimoto
    Japan, Japanese language, identities, language maintenance/shift, gender, migrants
  • Professor Can Seng Ooi
    Cultural tourism, creative economy, art worlds, place branding, intercultural management, business and society relations
  • Dr Mala Raghavan
    Macroeconomic policies, monetary economics, international economics and building macroeconometric models to study the effects of various domestic and international shocks on small emerging open economies
  • Dr Kaz Ross
    China, political and postcolonial theory, internet culture, food safety, tourism, Asia and cultural literacy
  • Dr Katsuhiko Suganuma
    Japanese popular cultures, queer cultures, gender & sexual minorities
  • Dr Taufiq Tanasaldy 
    Indonesian politics, ethnic politics, ethnic conflict, overseas Chinese, border relations, race and ethnicity
  • Dr Nicki Tarulevicz
    Asian history, Singapore, food studies, cultural history, imperialism and nationalism
  • Dr Sonam Thakchoe
    Buddhist philosophy (Mahayana, Theravada, Zen), Chinese philosophy (confucianism and taoism) and Indian philosophy (orthodox and heterodox Schools)
  • Dr Yan Jun Isabel Wang
    Chinese languages, multiculturalism, intercultural and cross-cultural studies, education, China
  • Professor Rob White
    Youth studies, environmental crime in South-East Asia, innovative justice

Research Associates

  • Dr Keith Harris
    Suicidality, acute care/hospital procedures, online behaviours, psychosocial assessment, help-seeking, social support, the epidemiology of mental health and general health problems, ethics in psychosocial research, media portrayals of mental health factors
  • Adjunct Assoc/Prof Pam Allen
    Indonesia, Indonesian language, Indonesian literature, postcolonialism
  • Dr Erika Altmann
    Property, real estate, body corporate, aged care
  • Dr Victoria Eaves-Young
    Japanese soldier diaries, Pacific War, Kokutai, Nationalism, Japanese cinema, Tamura Yoshikazu, Sengoha, war memorialization
  • Emeritus Prof Barbara Hatley
    Indonesian theatre, literature, society, culture, gender issues
  • Dr Sandy Hudd
    Colonial history, Singapore, Asian cultural studies
  • Dr Nancy Hudson-Rodd
    Myanmar, Muslim communities, Rohingya Muslims

Visiting Scholars

  • A/Prof Sachiyo Sekiguchi (2019-2020), Meiji Gakuin University, Japan
  • A/Prof Zhou Min (2018-2019), Jiliang University, Hangzhou, China
  • Dr Daozhi Xu (2018) The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Ms Shu-Ching Chen (2018), Titsumeikan Asia Pacific University, Japan
  • Ms Chen Liang (2018), Shantou University, China
  • Ms Jing Zhang (2017 - 2018), Changzhou University, China
  • Ms Ning Li (2017 - 2018), Hainan Technician Institute, China
  • Dr Chikako Nihei (2016), Yamaguchi University, Japan
  • Miss Zhang Lili (2015 - 2016), Jiliang University, Hangzhou, China
  • Ms Fan Xingxing (2015 - 2016), China Jiliang University, Hangzhou, China
  • Prof Deying Hu (2015), Yunnan Normal University, China
  • Prof Yapin Chen (2015), Yunnan Normal University, China