Key to Tasmanian Dicots
1. Melaleuca squamea
2. Euryomyrtus ramosissima
3. Eucalyptus cordata
4. Leptospermum grandiflorum
5. E. vernicosa
The Myrtaceae is one of the major families in the Tasmanian flora with over 50 native species. It includes Eucalyptus, which dominates many vegetation types, and prominent genera such as Leptospermum and Melaleuca. All species are trees or shrubs. The leaves are usually leathery, are entire or nearly so, may be opposite or alternate, and most have a distinctive tea-tree or eucalypt smell when crushed. The flowers have inferior ovaries, usually have 5 free sepals and petals. However, in Eucalyptus, the perianth parts are fused into one or two caps (opercula). The fruit of the Tasmanian species are more or less woody capsules.

Key to genera

© 2019 University of Tasmania

List of genera