space Home space Courses space Schedules space Disciplines space Units spaceDownload: space Units


CRICOS Provider Code: 00586B

Information relevant to 2003 – Unit Details

Previous: Contract Law Next: Criminal Law


Enrolment code: LAW201

Offered: Hobart: (full-year) ie semesters 1 & 2,

Special note: compulsory unit; the unit is weighted at 20% for combined degrees

Unit description:

Introduces students to the elements of tort liability and provides a comprehensive survey of the principal causes of action in the Law of Torts This unit covers the general principles of negligence as well as the more specific areas such as negligent misstatement and pure economic loss. It deals with statutory schemes of compensation in addition to the common law remedies. Beyond the tort of negligence, the unit provides detailed coverage of the intentional torts of assault, battery, false imprisonment, trespass to land and goods, conversion, detinue, and the special torts of defamation and nuisance. Particular attention is also given to the defences to the intentional torts, the tortious causes of action available in cases of medical treatment, and remedies. Practical skills incorporated into this unit include legal reasoning and oral presentation.

Staff Assoc Prof M Otlowski, Mrs J Davis For information on staff, turn to relevant Faculty website University phone and email search phone    email
Unit weight 25% To see normal University Admission requirements
Teaching pattern 2x50-min lectures weekly, 50-min tutorial fortnightly Timetable
Assessment mode tba Examinations timetable (Users will need to know their login name (POP account) and password)
Required texts etc Davies M, Torts, 3rd edn, Butterworths, Vic, 1999. Library Catalogue
Co-Op Bookshop
Recommended texts etc Balkin R & Davis J, The Law of Torts, 2nd edn, Butterworths, Syd, 1996
Trindade F & Cane P, the Law of Torts in Australia, 3rd edn, OUP, Vic, 1999
Fleming J, the Law of Torts, 9th edn, LBC, Syd, 1998
Library Catalogue
Co-Op Bookshop
Discipline (School) Law  
Courses Bachelor of Laws
Bachelor of Laws combined degrees (BA and LLB)
Bachelor of Laws combined degrees (BEc and LLB)
Bachelor of Laws combined degrees (BCom and LLB)
Bachelor of Laws combined degrees (BSc and LLB)
Bachelor of Laws combined degrees (BIS and LLB)
Faculty website Faculty of Law  
Previous: Contract Law Next: Criminal Law

Top of page 

Further information

On admission to the
Enquiries from outside
For general information on courses: enquiries from within

This page employs a stylesheet and is designed to be used with Netscape 4.7.

This page last updated on 3 April 2003.  Queries and Feedback concerning this site may be addressed to:

©  University of Tasmania, 2003.
Details shown above were correct at the time of publication. Every effort is made to keep this information up to date. However, the University reserves the right to alter or remove it at any time without notice.