Skip to content

Web Accessibility

Web content needs to be accessible to people with a wide range of disabilities, including visual, auditory, physical, speech, cognitive, language, learning, and neurological disabilities.

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (Version 2) (WCAG 2.0) is a set of recommendations to assist providers of web content to maximise every user's web experience.

The Australian Government has mandated compliance with WCAG 2.0 and has outlined a Web Accessibility National Transition Strategy. All universities need to make their websites accessible because they fall under the definition of services provided for education under the Disability Discrimination Act (1992). The Australian Human Rights Commission, which enforces this Act, endorses WCAG 2.0

Meeting WCAG 2.0

A To claim Single A conformance, all of your pages and documents must meet all Single A requirements for all content

AA To claim Double A, all of your pages and documents must meet all Single A and all Double A requirements

AAA To claim Triple A, all of your pages and documents must meet all Single A, Double A and Triple A requirements

What is web accessibility?

Web accessibility applies to much more than just static web pages. It covers access and use of all dynamic content and documents delivered via the Internet. It is access to the full immersive experience! This experience should be available to everyone. If it cannot be perceived in the same form, then the experience should have the same outcome for everyone. The guidelines that help people make sure that the experience is the best possible one for everyone is the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (Version 2), known as WCAG 2.0, from the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C).

Want to know more?